CBC Toronto - Photo By Timothy Neesam

Tahrir in Toronto

Bookmark and Share

A Town Hall from CBC Radio One 99.1 FM

NOTE: CBC Radio One will broadcast a one-hour version of our Town Hall across Canada.
Tune in Wednesday March 30th at 2:00 p.m. ET.

How did a vegetable vendor in Tunisia, by setting himself on fire, spark a revolution across the middle east and northern Africa? What's next for Egypt, Libya and other countries as they attempt to move from dictatorship to democracy? What role should expatriates and other nations play as these complex conflicts emerge?

Series: Waging Nonviolence

Ramin Jahanbegloo
Ramin Jahanbegloo is one of several guests Mary Wiens will speak to this week about the role of nonviolence in the Arab revolutions.
(Dwight Friesen/CBC)

In an attempt to understand the revolutions and what they mean for Toronto, CBC Radio One 99.1 FM hosted Tahrir (Liberation) in Toronto: Tracking a Revolution.

We also brought you Mary Wiens' series on advocates of nonviolence. They believe their methods are more effective than armed struggle to defeat a dictator.

Above is an audio slideshow of highlights from our discussion.

Our entire town hall is available in three audio segments:

Part One

Our panelists talk about a personal moment that represents the change that has swept the region, and discuss the fighting in Libya. Listen audio (runs 45:02)

Part Two

Apart from Libya,what can we expect to happen next? How will the outcome of these revolutions change the status of women in the region? Listen audio (runs 33:04)

Part Three

There are people from every country in the middle-east and north Africa represented here in Toronto and the GTA. What can they do to help? Listen audio (runs 12:34)

Find out more about our panelists, and tell us your own thoughts on the changes in the region.

The Call for Change Sweeps a Region

From the vast deserts of Northern Africa to the island of Coromos (visible just above Mozambique on the Google map below), people are calling for changes from their governments.

Egypt, Sudan, Algeria, Morocco, Iraq, Saudi Arabia, Yemen, Syria, Tunisia, Somalia, Libya, Jordan, United Arab Emirates, Lebanon, the Palestinian territories, Kuwait, Mauritania, Oman, Qatar, Bahrain, Djibouti and Comoros are involved.