Radio

Sundays 8pm to 11pm on Radio 2

New Episodes at CBC Music

New Episodes at CBC Music

Need more Strombo Show? Head over to our page on CBC Music for new episodes, playlists and video extras.

CBC Music Past Shows

 

 

Videos
k-os on Hip Hop, Neil Young and President Obama

k-os (aka Kevin Brereton) - the award-winning, innovative hip hop musician - sat down with George to talk about his new double album "BLack on BLonde", how some hip hop artists remind him of Gollum from "Lord of the Rings", and why he thinks listening to Neil Young may have helped President Obama get to the White House.

Two years in the making, k-os is back with a cutting-edge double album that was recorded at Hayden Christensen's deserted Laurel Canyon mansion. Collaborators include Sam Roberts, Metric's Emily Haines, Sebastien Grainger (Death from Above 1979) and Corey Hart. Check out George's appearance on the single, "The Dog Is Mine".

"BLack on BLonde" is available now.

You can also catch k-os on tour in April. Here are the dates:

BLack on BLonde ambition tour
Tues April 02, Ottawa - Mavericks
Wed, April 03, Montreal - Corona
Thu, April 04, Waterloo - Starlight
Fri, April 05, Toronto - Danforth Music Hall
Tue, April 09, Thunder Bay - Outpost
Wed, April 10, Winnipeg - Pyramid Cabaret
Thu, April 11, Saskatoon - Odeon
Fri, April 12, Edmonton, - Avenue
Sat, April 13, Calgary - Republik
Mon, April 15, Nelson - Spirit Bar
Wed, April 17, Victoria - Sugar
Sat, April 20, Vancouver - Commodore

In this clip, k-os talks about...

Why more black people should listen to Neil Young:

"...as history has shown, maybe why white people run the world is that they're very quick at "Black music's amazing! Let's take it and make it our own!" They flip it all the time, they flip the script - but black people aren't the best at taking white music and making it their own. Maybe through sampling and hip hop, but I always say 'black people got to get in touch with their inner white person!" (laughter) Obama did it and he's President (more laughter)".

Related:

THE BIO: k-os