The 7 Essential Chakras in Your Body


Fitness and yoga expert Jana Webb describes the basics of the seven main chakras in our bodies. Chakras are wheels of energy in the body that may get misaligned through circumstances and environment. Our bodies have hundreds of chakras and balancing them out is believed to be important in maintaining good physical and mental health.

Jana Webb showing Steven Sabados and Chris Hyndman the seven main chakras in the human body.

1. Root Chakra

The root chakra is located at the base of the perineum. It helps in making you feel physically secure, grounded, and enables strength and endurance. Physical imbalances in the root chakra include problems in the legs, feet, rectum, tailbone and immune system.

2. Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is located in the pelvic basin. It controls creativity, sexuality, fluidity, and desire. When the sacral is misaligned, it can trigger physical imbalances including sexual and reproductive issues, urinary problems, kidney dysfunctions and hip, pelvic and lower back pain.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra

The solar plexus chakra is located in the naval. It controls clarity of the mind like will power. Signs of off balance could show up in a person as low confidence or as issues with power and self-esteem.

4. Heart Chakra

This chakra is located at the heart centre. The heart chakra depicts clarity of feeling like compassion, openness and unconditional love. When this chakra is off balance it could show up as a person's inability to love or be loved or as suffocation and jealousy.

5. Throat Chakra

This chakra is located at the throat center. The throat stands for wisdom, pure communication, higher consciousness and inspiration. If this energy wheel is off balance, the person may have trouble communicating clearly or at all.

6. Third Eye Chakra

The third eye is located in the middle of your eyebrows. This chakra represents full self-realization and when in balance the person feels focussed. But when imbalanced, people can be delusional or have the lack of ability for insight and intuition.

7. Crown Chakra

The crown chakra is located at the top of your head — or crown, if you will. This chakra symbolizes universal connection and when in balance we live in the present moment. If it is off balance people can be completely "out there” and unable to cope with societal norms.


Also on CBC