Toronto FC's Bradley, Giovinco named MLS all-stars

Toronto FC stars Michael Bradley and Sebastian Giovinco are headed to the 2017 MLS all-star game.

Will be 3rd appearance for both players

Michael Bradley will return to the MLS All-Star game for the third time along with teammate Sebastian Giovinco. (Vaughn Ridley/Getty Images)

Toronto FC stars Michael Bradley and Sebastian Giovinco are headed to the 2017 MLS all-star game.

The all-stars will face Spain's Real Madrid on Aug. 2 at Soldier Field in Chicago.

The Fan XI announced Friday also includes goalkeeper Tim Howard (Colorado), defenders Greg Garza (Atlanta United), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City) and DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo), midfielders Bastian Schweinsteiger (Chicago Fire), Miguel Almiron (Atlanta United) and Kaka (Orlando City SC) and forwards David Villa (New York City FC) and Nemanja Nikolic.

Ten of the 11 players on the Fan XI were chosen by fan voting. The 11th — Giovinco — was determined by EA Sports "More Than a Vote" challenge that saw the Italian star score more than 1.1 million goals in the "EA Sports FIFA 17" video game.

Others in the top four of the challenge were Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Giovani dos Santos (L.A. Galaxy), Nikolic and Villa.

The rest of the 24-man roster will be announced in mid-July and will include the Fan XI, two Commissioner's Picks, and 11 players selected by all-star head coach Veljko Paunovic.

It's the third all-star selection for both Bradley and Giovinco as members of Toronto FC.

Giovinco has 12 goals and five assists in 17 MLS and Canadian Championship matches this season. Bradley has two assists in 19 appearances.

Toronto FC's all-time all-star list features Ronnie O'Brien (2007), Jimmy Brennan (2008), Dwayne De Rosario (2009, 2010), Jermain Defoe (2014), Altidore (2015), Bradley (2014, 2015, 2017) and Giovinco (2015, 2016, 2017).

2017 MLS All-Star Fan XI

Goalkeeper: Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids).

Defenders: Greg Garza (Atlanta United), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City), DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo).

Midfielders: Bastian Schweinsteiger (Chicago Fire), Miguel Almiron (Atlanta United), Kaka (Orlando City SC), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC).

Forwards: David Villa (New York City FC), Nemanja Nikolic (Chicago Fire), Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC, via EA Sports "More Than a Vote" Challenge).


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?