Canada's golden stars Christine Sinclair, Ashley Lawrence and Jessie Fleming nominated for Ballon d'Or

Canadians Christine Sinclair, Ashley Lawrence and Jessie Fleming are up for the Ballon d'Or, presented to the world's top soccer player.

Teammates say powerhouses get 'overdue recognition' for prestigious award

Canada's Christine Sinclair, Ashley Lawrence and Jessie Fleming have been nominated for the Ballon d'Or. (Naomi Baker/Getty Images)

Canadians Christine Sinclair, Ashley Lawrence and Jessie Fleming are up for the Ballon d'Or, presented to the world's top soccer player.

Sinclair (Portland Thorns), the world's all-time leading goal-scorer with 187, captained Canada to the Olympic gold this summer in Japan. Lawrence (Paris Saint-Germain) and Fleming (Chelsea) were also part of that champion team.

"Very happy and grateful" to be nominated, Lawrence said on social media.

"Long overdue recognition," Canadian striker Janine Beckie said via Twitter of the Canadian nominees.

"It's about damn time Canadians get some respect on the international stage," added Canadian goalkeeper Stephanie Labbe. "Gold medal helped but these three have been phenomenal for the last few years."

Awarded by France Football magazine, the Ballon d'Or has been given out since 1956 when Stanley Matthews won. The magazine started its women's award in 2018.

The awards were not given out last year due to the pandemic.

Messi, Ronaldo on men's short list

The 30-player men's short list is highlighted by Argentina's Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain) and Portugal's Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United).

Messi has won the award six times and Ronaldo five times.

The other players on the 20-woman short list are Stina Blackstenius (Sweden), Kadidiatou Diani (France), Christiane Endler (Chile), Magdalena Eriksonn (Sweden), Pernille Harder (Denmark), Jennifer Hermoso (Spain), Marie-Antoinette Katoto (France), Sam Kerr (Australia), Fran Kirby (England), Lieke Martens (the Netherlands), Samantha Mewis (U.S.), Vivianne Miedema (the Netherlands), Sandra Panos (Spain), Irene Paredes (Spain), Alexia Putellas (Spain), Wendie Renard (France) and Ellen White (England).

The men's short list also features Cesar Azpilicueta (Spain), Nicolo Barella (Italy), Karim Benzema (France), Leonardo Bonucci (Italy), Giorgio Chiellini (Italy), Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy), Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium), Ruben Dias (Portugal), Bruno Fernandes (Portugal), Phil Foden (England), Erling Haaland (Norway), Jorginho (Italy), Harry Kane (England), Ngolo Kante (France), Simon Kjaer (Denmark), Robert Lewandowski (Poland), Romelu Lukaku (Belgium), Kylian Mbappe (France), Gerard Moreno (Spain), Mason Mount (England), Riyad Mahrez (Algeria), Lautaro Martinez (Argentina); Luka Modric (Croatia), Neymar (Brazil), Pedri (Spain), Mohamed Salah (Egypt), Raheem Sterling (England) and Luis Suarez (Uruguay).

The winners will be announced Nov. 29. Some 180 journalists from around the world will vote on the men's award while 50 journalists who specialize in women's football will decide the women's winner.

Messi and American Megan Rapinoe won the awards in 2019.

Add some “good” to your morning and evening.

A variety of newsletters you'll love, delivered straight to you.

Sign up now


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?