Canadian rowers set for Pan Am Games medal haul

Twenty six rowers were chosen to compete at the Pan Am Games in Toronto, Rowing Canada announced on Tuesday.

26 athletes named for team in Toronto

Twenty six rowers were chosen to compete at the Pan Am Games in Toronto, Rowing Canada announced on Tuesday.

"We are looking forward to this great and rare opportunity to compete on home water," said Peter Cookson, high performance director for Rowing Canada Aviron. "We will be fielding a strong team in all 14 boat classes as we use this regatta as part of our preparation for next year's Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro."

With the support of the hometown fans, Canadian rowers are expecting to perform better than the results posted at the Pan Am Games in Guadalajara, Mexico in 2011, where the team collected eight medals — three silver and five bronze.

The rowing competition will take place at the Royal Canadian Henley rowing course in St. Catharines, Ont., from July 11 to 15.

Canada's full rowing team for Pan Am Games:

  • Julien ​Bahain, Victoria, men's quadruple sculls, men's eight with coxswain
  • Martin Barakso, Nanaimo, B.C., men's coxless pair, men's eight with coxswain 
  • Kristin Bauder, Langley, B.C., women's coxless pair
  • Matthew Buie, Duntroon, Ont., men's double sculls, men's quadruple sculls
  • Will Crothers, Kingston, Ont., men's coxless four, eight with coxswain 
  • Will Dean Kelowna, B.C., men's quadruple sculls, men's eight with coxswain 
  • Rosanne DeBoef, Victoria, women's coxless pair
  • Mike Evans, Victoria, men's coxless pair, men's eight with coxswain 
  • Liz Fenje, Victoria, women's lightweight single sculls, women's lightweight double sculls 
  • Saul Garcia-Alvarez, Victoria, men's lightweight double sculls
  • Rob Gibson, Kingston, Ont., men's single sculls, men's quadruple sculls  
  • Kate Goodfellow, Perth, Ont., women's quadruple sculls
  • Mark Henry, Guelph, Ont., men's lightweight double sculls 
  • Brendan Hodge, Detla, B.C., men's lightweight coxless four 
  • Jacob Koudys, Fonthill, Ont., men's eight with coxswain 
  • Kai Langerfeld, Parksville, B.C., men's coxless four, men's eight with coxswain 
  • Maxwell Lattimer, Delta, B.C., men's ightweight coxless four 
  • Pascal Lussier, Napierville, Que., men's double sculls
  • Kerry Maher-Shaffer, Welland, Ont., women's double sculls, women's quadruple sculls
  • Conlin McCabe, Brockville, Ont., men's coxless four, men's eight with coxswain
  • Nicolas Pratt, Kingston, Ont., men's lightweight coxless four 
  • Kate Sauks, Owen Sound, Ont., women's lightweight double sculls
  • Tim Schrijver, Forest, Ont., men's coxless four, eight with coxswain  
  • Antje von Seydlitz, Smithers, B.C., women's double sculls, quadruple sculls
  • Eric Woelfl, St. Catharines, Ont., men's lightweight coxless four
  • Carling Zeeman, Cambridge, Ont., women's singles scull, women's quadruple sculls


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.