Canada's cycling team full of gold medal threats

Canada will send one of its strongest teams to the Pan Am Games after Cycling Canada announced its roster of athletes on Monday.

Canada's cycling team among country's strongest group of athletes

Canada will send one of its strongest teams to the Pan Am Games after Cycling Canada announced its roster of athletes on Monday.

The team is led by the women's pursuit quartet of Allison Beveridge, of Calgary, Vancouver's Laura Brown, Jasmin Glaesser, of Coquitlam, B.C., and Kirsti Lay, of Medicine Hat, Alta. Brown is replacing Calgary's Stephanie Roorda.

The women's pursuit team has reached the podium in every world cup or world championship since winning bronze at the 2012 London Olympics.

Canada has won 43 medals in cycling at the Pan Am Games, compiling 21 gold, nine silver and 13 bronze.

Brown and Glaesser (2011) have won Pan Am medals, along with mountain bike star Catharine Pendrel (2007), from Kamloops, B.C.

"Games events are magical," said Pendrel, a two-time world champion. "They are an opportunity to pursue dreams and connect with your nation in such a unique way."

Below is the full cycling team that will compete in Toronto.

Track cycling

  • Hugo Barrette, Cap-aux-Meules, Que., men's sprint, men's team sprint
  • Allison Beveridge, Calgary, women's team pursuit
  • Laura Brown, Vancouver, women's team pursuit
  • Evan Carey, Victoria, B.C., men's sprint, men's team sprint
  • Jasmin Glaesser Coquitlam, B.C., women's team pursuit
  • Adam Jamieson Barrie, Ont., men's team pursuit
  • Eric Johnstone Calgary, men's team pursuit
  • Kirsti Lay Medicine Hat, Alta., women's team pursuit
  • Sean MacKinnon, Hamilton, Ont., men's team pursuit
  • Kate O'Brien, Calgary, women's keirin, women's sprint, women's team sprint
  • Rémi Pelletier-Roy Longueuil, Que., men's team pursuit, men's omnium​
  • Monique Sullivan, Calgary, women's keirin, women's sprint, women's team sprint
  • Ed Veal Queensville, Ont., men's team pursuit
  • Joseph Veloce Fonthill, Ont., men's sprint, men's team sprint

Mountain bike

  • Emily Batty Brooklin, Ont., women's cross-country
  • Raphaël Gagné, Quebec City, men's cross-country
  • Catharine Pendrel, Kamloops, B.C., women's cross-country
  • Derek Zandstra, Trenton, Ont., men's cross-country


  • Jimmy Brown Airdrie, Alta., men's BMX
  • Tory Nyhaug Coquitlam, B.C., men's BMX
  • Daina Tuchscherer, Chestermere, Alta., women's BMX
  • Amelia Walsh Ayr, Ont., women's BMX


  • Allison Beveridge Calgary, women's road race
  • Guillaume Boivin Longueuil, Que., men's road race
  • Laura Brown Vancouver, women's time trial
  • Jasmin Glaesser Coquitlam, B.C., women's road race; women's time trial
  • Kirsti Lay Medicine Hat, Alta., women's road race
  • Sean MacKinnon Hamilton, Ont., men's road race
  • Rémi Pelletier-Roy Longueuil, Que., men's road race
  • Hugo Houle Ste-Perpétue,Que., men's road race, men's time trial


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?