Canadian Olympic mixed doubles curling trials coming to CBC Sports

CBC Sports will offer live-streaming coverage of every draw of the Canadian mixed doubles curling trials from Jan. 2-7, 2018 in Portage la Prairie, Man. In addition, broadcast coverage of the final two days of the event, including the playoffs and final, will be available on CBC TV.

January event will feature 18 teams vying for 1 spot in Pyeongchang, South Korea

Val Sweeting, left, and Brad Gushue have been invited to compete together at the Canadian mixed doubles Olympic curling trials in January. Mixed doubles will debut at the Olympic Games. (Canadian Press)

​Canada's first Olympic mixed doubles curling team will be decided in January and fans from coast to coast can see the winner declared on CBC Sports.

The first Canad Inns Canadian mixed doubles trials are scheduled for Jan. 2-7 at Stride Place in Portage la Prairie, Man., CBC Sports and Curling Canada announced Thursday.

CBC Sports will offer live-streaming coverage of every draw at and via the CBC Sports app for iOS and Android devices beginning Jan. 3. In addition, broadcast coverage of the final two days of the event, including the playoffs and final, will be available on CBC TV.

"We're excited to see this new Olympic discipline get exposure like this on Canada's Olympic Network," said Katherine Henderson, Chief Executive Officer of Curling Canada.

CBC Sports, which recently announced its plans for the online streaming of five other Curling Canada championships, will be giving many fans their first exposure to mixed doubles curling, which was accepted as an Olympic medal sport by the International Olympic Committee in June 2015.

"The mixed doubles trials is a highlight of our new partnership with Curling Canada, and we are very much looking forward to sharing this exciting event with audiences across the country in 2018 and 2022," said Greg Stremlaw, Executive Director, CBC Sports and General Manager, Olympics.

"As Canada's Olympic Network, we share the stories of Canadian high-performance athletes on their journey to the Olympic Games and events like this add to our storytelling opportunities."

The trials will feature 18 teams, split into two pools of nine, with eight teams advancing to a modified double-knockout playoffs.

Here is the full list of teams that have been invited:

  • Rachel Homan, John Morris 
  • Joanne Courtney, Reid Carruthers 
  • Jennifer Jones, Brent Laing
  • Jocelyn Peterman, Brett Gallant 
  • Chelsea Carey, Colin Hodgson 
  • Kalynn Park, Charley Thomas 
  • Dawn McEwen, Mike McEwen 
  • Emma Miskew, Tyrel Griffith 
  • Lisa Weagle, John Epping 
  • Laura Crocker, Geoff Walker 
  • Nancy Martin, Catlin Schneider 
  • Marliese Kasner, Dustin Kalthoff 
  • Val Sweeting, Brad Gushue 
  • Kim Tuck, Wayne Tuck 
  • Emilie Desjardins, Robert Desjardins 
  • Nicole Westlund-Stewart, Tyler Stewart 
  • Dana Ferguson, Brendan Bottcher 
  • Shannon Birchard/Jason Gunnlaugson 


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?