Road To The Olympic Games


Canadian teams will travel to Italy to resume competition in Volleyball Nations League

Canada's senior men's team is set for a trip to Rimini, Italy to compete in the 2021 Volleyball Nations League season that is set to begin May 28.

Competition set to begin May 25 for women, May 28 for men

The Canadian men's team will feature a mix of 2016 Olympic squad members, those who competed in the Olympic qualifiers, as well as welcoming fresh faces as they set out to compete for a title in the VNL starting May 28. (Twitter/@VBallCanada)

The Canadian senior men's indoor volleyball team is set for a trip to Rimini, Italy, to compete in the 2021 Volleyball Nations League season that is set to begin May 28.

The women's competition will begin May 25, with Canada's squad having previously been announced by Volleyball Canada.

The league is sticking to its format of 12 core teams and four challenger teams per gender after two successful seasons in 2018 and 2019. The 2020 season was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Men's and women's VNL matches will be streamed live on Check the CBC Sports broadcast schedule for further information.

The men's core teams will be Argentina, Brazil, France, Germany, Iran, Italy, Japan, Poland, Russia, Serbia and United States. They will be joined by challenger teams from Australia, Bulgaria and Canada.

Slovenia, the winner of the 2019 FIVB Volleyball Challenger Cup, and the Netherlands, will be replacing Portugal and China in the competition.

Bring on the cheers

Find live streams, must-watch video highlights, breaking news and more in one perfect Olympic Games package. Following Team Canada has never been easier or more exciting.

More from Tokyo 2020

The Canadian team will feature a mix of 2016 Olympic team members (TJ Sanders, Gord Perrin, Steve Marshall, Nick Hoag, Jay Blankenau, Dan Jansen Van Doorn, Graham Vigrass and Blair Bann), in addition to those who have competed in the Olympic qualifiers, while also welcoming some fresh new faces to the squad.

The men's team has qualified for the Tokyo Olympics based on its early 2020 win of the NORCECA zone tournament. The Olympic roster is set to be released at a later date.

Canadian roster

TJ Sanders (London, Ont.)
Gordon Perrin (Creston, B.C.)
Steven Marshall (Abbotsford, B.C.)
Nicholas Hoag (Sherbrooke, Que.)
Jordan Pereira (St. Catharines, Ont.)
Stephen Maar (Aurora, Ont.)
Jay Blankenau (Sherwood Park, Alta.)
Ryan Sclater (Port Coquitlam, B.C.)
Daniel Jansen Van Doorn (Langley, B.C.)
Lucas Van Berkel (Edmonton)
Sharone Vernon-Evans (Scarborough, Ont.)
Eric Loeppky (Steinbach, Man.)
Graham Vigrass (Calgary)
Blair Bann (Edmonton)
Arthur Szwarc (Toronto)
Brett Walsh (Calgary)
Danny Demyanenko (Toronto)
Head Coach: Glenn Hoag
Assistant Coaches: Daniel Lewis, Gino Brousseau

Add some “good” to your morning and evening.

A variety of newsletters you'll love, delivered straight to you.

Sign up now


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversationCreate account

Already have an account?