Paralympic star Rivard, Olympians Oleksiak, Masse, Mac Neil headline Canada's swim team for Commonwealth Games

Ten-time Paralympic medallist Aurelie Rivard will join decorated Olympic swimmers Maggie Mac Neil, Penny Oleksiak and Kylie Masse on Canada's team for the 2022 Commonwealth Games.

31 Canadian swimmers will compete in Birmingham, England from July 28-Aug. 8

Canada's Aurelie Rivard celebrates after winning gold and setting a world record in the women's 400-metre freestyle S10 final at the Tokyo Paralympics on Sept. 1, 2021. (Marko Djurica/Reuters)

Ten-time Paralympic medallist Aurelie Rivard will join decorated Olympic swimmers Maggie Mac Neil, Penny Oleksiak and Kylie Masse on Canada's team for the 2022 Commonwealth Games.

Swimming Canada Monday announced the 31-athlete team that will compete in Birmingham, England, from July 28 to Aug. 8.

The fully integrated team includes eight Para swimmers. Joining Rivard, who has a bronze medal in the 200-metre relay from the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow, will be Philippe Vachon, a medallist at the 2018 Games in Gold Coast, Australia, and two-time Paralympic medallist Nicolas-Guy Turbide.

"It's always a privilege to train and race next to our Olympic program competitors and witness some amazing races from Canadian swimmers as both of our teams come together," Rivard said in a statement.

The team will also feature Oleksiak, who became Canada's most decorated Olympian after picking up three medals at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. That brought her medal haul to seven (one gold, two silver, four bronze) over two Games. She also picked up three silver at the Gold Coast Games.

Masse, a two-time world champion in the 100-medal backstroke and four-time Olympic medallist, won two gold and two silver at the Gold Coast Games.

Mac Neil, who won a medal of each colour in Tokyo, will be participating at her first Commonwealth Games.

Canada won three gold, 11 silver and six bronze medals at the 2018 Games. That was Canada's third-largest swimming medal haul, behind Auckland 1990 (23 medals) and Kuala Lumpur 1998 (21).

Team Canada:

  • Javier Acevedo — Toronto
  • Sophie Angus —  Weston, Conn.
  • Jeremy Bagshaw —  Victoria
  • Katrina Bellio — Mississauga, Ont.
  • Nicholas Bennett — Parksville, B.C.
  • Camille Berube — Gatineau, Que.
  • Eric Brown — Pointe-Claire, Que.
  • Stephen Calkins — Calgary
  • Tessa Cieplucha — Georgetown, Ont.
  • James Dergousoff — Christina Lake, B.C.
  • Alexander Elliot — Kitchener, Ont.
  • Collyn Gagne — Oakville, Ont.
  • Ruslan Gaziev — Toronto
  • Mary-Sophie Harvey — Trois-Rivieres, Que.
  • Patrick Hussey — Beaconsfield, Que.
  • Ella Jansen — Burlington, Ont.
  • Danielle Kisser — Delta, B.C.
  • Finlay Knox — Okotoks, Alta.
  • Joshua Liendo — Markham, Ont.
  • Maggie Mac Neil — London, Ont.
  • Kylie Masse — LaSalle, Ont.
  • Summer McIntosh — Toronto
  • Penny Oleksiak — Toronto
  • Sydney Pickrem — Clearwater, Fla.
  • Aurelie Rivard — St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Que.
  • Katarina Roxon — Kippens, N.L.
  • Kayla Sanchez — Toronto
  • Katerine Savard — Pont-Rouge, Que.
  • Rebecca Smith — Red Deer, Alta.
  • Nicolas-Guy Turbide — Quebec City
  • Philippe Vachon — Blainville, Que.

Add some “good” to your morning and evening.

A variety of newsletters you'll love, delivered straight to you.

Sign up now


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?