Road To The Olympic Games

Olympics

Watch the WBSC Premier 12 Olympic baseball tournament

Watch live action from the WBSC Premier 12 baseball tournament, which also serves as a qualifying event for the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games.

Watch the WBSC Premier 12 baseball tournament, which also serves as an Olympic qualifying event.

Canada's hopes of earning an Olympic baseball berth at the Premier 12 tournament ended after it was eliminated from the tournament with a 3-1 loss to Australia on Friday in Seoul.

The defeat left Canada with a 1-2 record in its group. The top two teams advance. South Korea (3-0) won the group. Australia and Cuba also went 1-2, but the Aussies got second place by way of a tiebreaker.

Another qualifier, featuring just teams from the Americas, will be played in March for a spot in the six-team Olympic tournament in Tokyo next summer. There's also a final world qualifier after that.

The 12-team, $5.2-million US tournament runs Nov. 2-17, also serves as a 2020 Tokyo Olympic qualifier. One spot goes to the highest-placed finisher from the Americas and one will be awarded to the highest finisher in the Super Round/Finals from the Asia/Oceania region.

Results

Saturday, Nov. 2

  • USA 9, Netherlands 0
  • Mexico 6, Dominican Republic 1

Sunday, Nov. 3

  • Dominican Republic 14, Netherlands 4
  • Mexico 8, USA 2

Monday, Nov. 4

  • USA 10, Dominican Republic 8

Tuesday, Nov. 5

  • Japan 8, Venezuela 4
  • Chinese Taipei 6, Puerto Rico 1
  • Mexico 10, Netherlands 2
  • Canada 3, Cuba 0

Wednesday, Nov. 6

  • Japan 4, Puerto Rico 0
  • Korea 5, Australia 0
  • Chinese Taipei 3, Venezuela 0

Thursday, Nov. 7

  • Venezuela 7, Puerto Rico 1
  • Australia 2, Cuba 3
  • Japan 5, Chinese Taipei 0
  • Korea 3​​​​​​, Canada 1

Friday, Nov. 8

  • Australia 3, Canada 1
  • Korea 7, Cuba 0

Sunday, Nov. 10

  • Mexico 2, Chinese Taipei 0

Monday, Nov. 11

  • Japan 3, Australia 2
  • South Korea 5, USA 1

Tuesday, Nov. 12

  • USA 4, Japan 3
  • Chinese Taipei 7, Korea 0

Wednesday, Nov. 13

  • Australia 2, USA 1
  • Japan 3, Mexico 1

Thursday, Nov. 14

  • USA 3, Chinese Taipei 2
  • South Korea 7, Mexico 3

Broadcast Partners