Road To The Olympic Games

Cross Country

Canada's Alex Harvey places 2nd in cross-country skiing World Cup finale

Canada's Alex Harvey capped his cross-country ski World Cup season with a second-place finish in Sunday's men's 15-kilometre pursuit.

St-Ferreol-les-Neiges, Que. star finishes 4th overall for the season

Winner Russia's Alexander Bolshunov, centre, celebrates on the podium with second placed Alex Harvey of Canada, left, and third placed Dario Cologna of Switzerland after the Men's 15 km pursuit free race at the FIS Cross-Country World Cup on Sunday in Falun, Sweden. (Ulf Palm/The Associated Press)

Canada's Alex Harvey capped his cross-country ski World Cup season with a second-place finish in Sunday's men's 15-kilometre pursuit in Falun, Sweden.

Harvey, from St-Ferreol-les-Neiges, Que., finished the race in 35 minutes, 50.4 seconds.

Russian Alexander Bolshunov won the race by almost 50 seconds, a day after his first career World Cup win. Switzerland's Dario Cologna was third.

Johannes Hoesflot Klaebo, 21, became the youngest man to win the overall cross-country ski World Cup title, while his fellow Norwegian Heidi Weng retained the women's title.

Klaebo finished just 25th in the last race of the season, but that was enough for him to keep hold of the standings lead.

That ends a dominant season for Klaebo, who won three Olympic gold medals last month. He started the World Cup season with five wins in the first six races, and held the standings lead for all except a brief period in January when he was overtaken by Martin Johnsrud Sundby.

The previous youngest winner was Sweden's Gunde Svan, who was 22 when he won the first of his five titles in 1984.

Harvey finished fourth in the overall standings.

Weng became the women's cross-country ski World Cup champion for the second year in a row Sunday, holding off U.S. skier Jessie Diggins.

Weng, who had been complaining of fatigue, was only 18th in Sunday's 10k freestyle pursuit race but that was enough to cling on as fellow Norwegian Marit Bjoergen took the race win, denying Weng's title rivals the 200 points on offer for the winner of the World Cup's final round.

Diggins finished second, 16.7 seconds behind Bjoergen and just over a minute ahead of her U.S. teammate Sadie Bjornsen.

Weng won the overall title by 40 points from Diggins, becoming the first woman to win consecutive titles since Justyna Kowalczyk in 2011

Broadcast Partners


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.