Watch the wheelchair basketball world championships

The world's best wheelchair basketball teams are competing at the 2018 IWBF Wheelchair Basketball World Championships in Germany and CBC Sports is streaming all the medal games.

Live coverage continues now

Patrick Anderson (12) remains the backbone of Canada's men's senior wheelchair team as they prepare for the World Championship in Germany in August. (Troy Curtis/Wheelchair Basketball Canada)

Watch live action from the 2018 IWBF Wheelchair Basketball World Championships in Hamburg, Germany.

On Thursday, the Canadian women's team was eliminated after a 63-56 loss to China in the quarter-finals.

The Canadian men's team was eliminated Tuesday after a 79-68 playoff loss to Poland.

Full Canadian women's results

  • Friday, Aug. 17 – 8 a.m. ET – Great Britain def. Canada, 64-56
  • Saturday, Aug. 18 – 6:15 a.m. ET – Canada def. Spain, 63-34
  • Sunday, Aug. 19 – 11:30 a.m. ET – Canada def. Australia, 82-74 (OT)
  • Tuesday, Aug. 21 – 12 p.m. ET – Netherlands def. Canada, 64-52
  • Wednesday, Aug. 22 – 4 a.m. ET – Canada def. Brazil, 61-52
  • Thursday, Aug. 23 – 5:45 a.m. ET (quarter-final) – China def. Canada, 63-56

Women's roster

  • Sandrine Bérubé (Beauharnois, Que.)
  • Kady Dandeneau (Pender Island, B.C.)
  • Erica Gavel (Prince Albert, Sask.)
  • Melanie Hawtin (Oakville, Ont.)
  • Maude Jacques (Lac-Beauport, Que.)
  • Puisand Lai (Toronto)
  • Rosalie Lalonde (Saint-Clet, Que.)
  • Tara Llanes (North Vancouver, B.C.)
  • Cindy Ouellet (Quebec City)
  • Tamara Steeves (Mississauga, Ont.)
  • Élodie Tessier (Saint-Germain-de-Grantham, Que.)
  • Arinn Young (Legal, Alta.)

Full Canadian men's results

  • Friday, Aug. 17  – 5:45 a.m. ET – Canada def. Morocco, 77-46
  • Sunday, Aug. 19 – 12 p.m. ET – Canada def. Germany, 78-61
  • Monday, Aug. 20 – 6:15 a.m. ET – Iran def. Canada, 83-71
  • Tuesday, Aug. 21 – 6:15 a.m. ET (playoff game) – Poland def. Canada, 79-68

Men's roster

  • Patrick Anderson (Fergus, Ont.)
  • Vincent Dallaire (Quebec City)
  • David Eng (Montreal)
  • Nikola Goncin (Regina)
  • Bo Hedges (Wonowon, B.C.)
  • Colin Higgins (Rothesay, N.B.)
  • Chad Jassman (Calgary)
  • Lee Melymick (Toronto)
  • Tyler Miller (Kitchener, Ont.)
  • Ben Moronchuk (Edmonton)
  • Garrett Ostepchuk (Regina)
  • Jonathan Vermette (Sherbrooke, Que.)


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.