U.S. invites 48 hockey players to Olympic orientation camp

Patrick Kane and Jonathan Quick, the past two Stanley Cup playoff MVPs, are among the 48 players invited to the United States men's pre-Olympic hockey camp.

Kane, Quick among 16 with Winter Games experience

Patrick Kane, right, and Dustin Brown, left, celebrate a Kane goal during semifinal action at the 2010 Vancouver Olympics. They'll be key members of the United States team that competes at the 2014 Winter Games in Sochi, Russia. (Bruce Bennett/Getty Images)

Patrick Kane and Jonathan Quick, the past two Stanley Cup playoff MVPs, are among the 48 players invited to the United States men’s pre-Olympic hockey camp.

Of the 48 players who will attend the Aug. 26-27 camp at Kettler Capitals IcePlex in Arlington, Va., 16 have previous Olympic experience, including Los Angeles Kings captain Dustin Brown and the Minnesota Wild duo of Zach Parise and Ryan Suter.

The three aforementioned players were alternate captains with the 2010 Olympic silver medalists.

Nine were members of the bronze medal-winning U.S. team at the 2013 World Championships in Sweden and Finland: Goalie John Gibson, defencemen Justin Faulk, Erik Johnson and Jacob Trouba and forwards Nick Bjugstad, Alex Galchenyuk, T.J.Oshie, Craig Smith and Paul Stastny.

Head coach Dan Bylsma will welcome 30 first-round NHL draft picks to camp.

Teams will be asked to submit a 25-man roster by Dec. 31, which includes two more players than at the 2010 Vancouver Games. Each country can now name 22 skaters and three goaltenders.

The NHL first allowed its players to compete at the Olympics in 1998 in Nagano, Japan. This time, the league will shut down on Feb. 9 and resume Feb. 26, three days after the gold-medal contest.

The men’s tournament, which is expected to feature about 170 NHLers, begins Feb. 12 with games shown live on CBC Television and CBCSports.ca.

The U.S. plays its first game Feb. 13 against Slovakia. Slovenia and host Russia are the other Group A teams.

U.S. orientation camp roster


  • Craig Anderson, Ottawa Senators
  • Jonathan Quick, Los Angeles Kings
  • Ryan Miller, Buffalo Sabres
  • Jimmy Howard, Detroit Red Wings
  • Cory Schneider, New Jersey Devils
  • John Gibson, Norfolk Admirals (AHL)


  • Zach Bogosian, Winnipeg Jets
  • Dustin Byfuglien, Winnipeg Jets
  • John Carlson, Washington Capitals
  • Dan DeKeyser, Detroit Red Wings
  • Justin Faulk, Carolina Hurricanes
  • Cam Fowler, Anaheim Ducks
  • Jake Gardiner, Toronto Maple Leafs
  • Erik Johnson, Colorado Avalanche
  • Jack Johnson, Columbus Blue Jackets
  • Seth Jones, Nashville Predators
  • Nick Leddy, Chicago Blackhawks
  • Paul Martin, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • Ryan McDonagh, NY Rangers
  • Brooks Orpik, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • Kevin Shattenkirk, St. Louis Blues
  • Ryan Suter, Minnesota Wild
  • Jacob Trouba, Winnipeg Jets
  • Keith Yandle, Arizona Coyotes


  • Justin Abdelkader, Detroit Red Wings
  • David Backes, St. Louis Blues
  • Beau Bennett, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • Nick Bjugstad, Florida Panthers
  • Dustin Brown, Los Angeles Kings
  • Ryan Callahan, NY Rangers
  • Alex Galchenyuk, Montreal Canadiens
  • Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks
  • Ryan Kesler, Vancouver Canucks
  • Phil Kessel, Toronto Maple Leafs
  • Trevor Lewis, Los Angeles Kings
  • Kyle Okposo, NY Islanders
  • T.J. Oshie, St. Louis Blues
  • Max Pacioretty, Montreal Canadiens
  • Kyle Palmieri, Anaheim Ducks
  • Zach Parise, Minnesota Wild
  • Joe Pavelski, San Jose Sharks
  • Bobby Ryan, Ottawa Senators
  • Brandon Saad, Chicago Blackhawks
  • Craig Smith, Nashville Predators
  • Paul Stastny, Colorado Avalanche
  • Derek Stepan, NY Rangers
  • James van Riemsdyk, Toronto Maple Leafs
  • Blake Wheeler, Winnipeg Jets