Selke Trophy finalists: Toews, Kopitar, Bergeron

Patrice Bergeron, Jonathan Toews and Anze Kopitar are the finalists for the NHL's Selke Trophy, awarded to the best defensive forward.

Trio up for best defensive foward award

Patrice Bergeron, centre, Anze Kopitar, left, Jonathan Toews were voted Selke Trophy finalists on Thursday. (Getty Images)

To no one's surprise, Patrice Bergeron, Jonathan Toews and Anze Kopitar are the finalists for the Selke Trophy, given to the NHL's best defensive forward.

Bergeron of the Boston Bruins and Toews of the Chicago Blackhawks have each finished in the top three in voting for the past three seasons, and Kopitar of the Los Angeles Kings was fourth last season.

For Bergeron it's an honour that underscores how much he's respected around the game for his two-way play.

"I think you're always trying to work on things and I feel like the complete game is something that I take a lot of pride in and I'm trying to work on," the Quebec City native said Thursday. "I think that this year I mean obviously I got the bounces offensively, but that being said it doesn't mean that I let the defensive part of the game out."

Bergeron, who narrowly lost the 2013 Selke to Toews after winning it in 2012, has to be considered the favourite. His 1,015 faceoff victories were the most by any NHL player in the past seven seasons.

"It makes you proud because you know he's well deserving of that, he has been for years now," Bruins coach Claude Julien said. "Always up there in plus-minus, always plays against top players, and he's got 30 goals this year playing against top lines. I can't find a better candidate than him. Certainly deserves the nomination. We'll see how it goes, but in our regards he's been the best."

Toews, who thrived in a shutdown role as perhaps Team Canada's best forward at the Sochi Olympics, led the Blackhawks in ice time and won 57.2 per cent of his faceoffs.

Kopitar played the most short-handed minutes of the league's top 30 scorers and keyed the Kings' top-rated defensive effort. He's the first player in Los Angeles franchise history to be a Selke finalist.

Detroit's Pavel Datsyuk, a finalist last year and the winner in 2008, 2009 and 2010, missed a big chunk of this season with a knee injury.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.