Vancouver's Pettersson takes home Calder Trophy, Calgary's Giordano wins Norris

Vancouver Canucks centre Elias Pettersson won the Calder Trophy as the NHL's top rookie at the league's award ceremony on Wednesday in Las Vegas, while Mark Giordano became the first player in Calgary Flames' history to win the Norris Trophy.

20-year-old 1st Canucks player to capture award since Pavel Bure; Tampa's Kucherov earns Hart Trophy

Vancouver Canucks rookie Elias Pettersson poses on the red carpet before the NHL Awards in Las Vegas on Wednesday. (John Locher/The Associated Press)

Vancouver Canucks centre Elias Pettersson has won the Calder Trophy as the NHL's top rookie at the league's award ceremony.

The 20-year-old Swede is the first Canuck to win the award since Pavel Bure in 1991-92.

Pettersson set a Canucks rookie record with 66 points (28 goals, 38 assists) in 71 games this season, passing Bure and Ivan Hlinka (1881-91), who each had 60 points.

Pettersson, who scored seven game-winners, became the 31st player in NHL history to end a season leading in goals, assists and points.

Pettersson, picked fifth overall in 2017, beat out St. Louis Blues goalie Jordan Binnington and Buffalo Sabres defenceman Rasmus Dahlin for the award.

Binnington, a native of Richmond Hill, Ont., helped the Blues win the Stanley Cup after making his first career start on Jan. 7, with the team sitting last in the West standings.

Dahlin, the No. 1 overall pick in last year's draft, led all rookie defencemen with 44 points.

Norris goes to Flames' Giordano

Calgary Flames captain Mark Giordano took home the Norris Trophy as the NHL's top defenceman. 

The Toronto native becomes the first player in Flames' history to win the award.

Giordano, 35, is just the fourth player aged 35 or older to win the award. He finished second among all defencemen in scoring with 74 points last season.

"I take a lot of pride in working out off the ice and keeping myself in good shape," Giordano said. "It's not easy to play late into your 30s. I think we're all aware of that as players, but (we) try to last as long as you can."

Giordano beat out Brent Burns of the San Jose Sharks and Victor Hedman of the Tampa Bay Lightning for the award.

Kucherov beats McDavid, Crosby for Hart Trophy

Nikita Kucherov of the Tampa Bay Lightning has won the Hart Trophy as the NHL's most valuable player.

The Russian right wing won the award for the first time after his prolific 128-point regular season. He beat out two-time MVP Sidney Crosby of Pittsburgh and 2017 Hart winner Connor McDavid.

Kucherov, who turned 26 on Monday, also won the Ted Lindsay Award as the league's outstanding player as selected by his fellow players.

A year after scoring 100 points, Kucherov emerged as a dominant NHL forward for the powerhouse Lightning. He won the Art Ross Trophy for leading the league in scoring with a career-best 41 goals and 87 assists.

He tied Jaromir Jagr's NHL record for assists by a wing, and he surpassed Alexander Mogilny's single-season record for points by a Russian-born player. His 128 points were the most by any NHL player since 1996 — and the Lightning coincidentally also had 128 points in the standings, also the most by any team since 1996.

"It's a huge night for me and my family," said Kucherov, who turned 26 on Monday. "But the main thing is Stanley Cup. We want to make sure we work harder than we thought we did [last season]. All these individual [awards], it's obviously nice, but the main thing is Stanley Cup for me."

Lightning's Vasilevskiy captures Vezina

Andrei Vasilevskiy also of the Lightning earned his first Vezina Trophy as the NHL's top goalie.

Vasilevskiy beat out Dallas' Ben Bishop and the New York Islanders' Robin Lehner, who won the Masterton Trophy earlier in the NHL Awards show.

Vasilevskiy led the NHL with 39 victories for the powerhouse Lightning, who took the Presidents' Trophy with 128 points. The Russian goalie had a 2.40 goals-against average and a .925 save percentage in 53 games.

Vasilevskiy is the first Lightning goalie to win the Vezina.

Meanwhile, Boston Bruins' Don Sweeney was named the NHL's General Manager of the Year, and Florida Panthers centre Alexander Barkov captured the Lady Byng Trophy as the player best combining sportsmanship, gentlemanly conduct and ability.

Sweeney has built a consistent winner since the longtime Bruins defenceman took over the front office in 2015. Boston reached the Stanley Cup Final this season, losing in seven games to St. Louis.

Barkov scored a franchise-record 96 points for the Panthers, yet he committed just four minor penalties while playing more than 22 minutes per game. The Finn was a Lady Byng finalist for the third time in four seasons.

Barkov drew a few laughs when he apparently heard a few shouts in Finnish as he took the stage to accept his trophy.

"We have more fans from Finland than Florida here," Barkov said.

The other Lady Byng finalists were St. Louis' Ryan O'Reilly and Calgary's Sean Monahan.

Wild forward Jason Zucker won the King Clancy Memorial Trophy for leadership and humanitarian contributions to hockey. Zucker, who is from Las Vegas, has done extensive fundraising for children's causes in Minnesota.

New York Islanders goalie Robin Lehner won the Masterton Trophy, given to the player exemplifying the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.

Trotz is top coach again

Barry Trotz received the Jack Adams Award as the NHL's top coach.

Trotz beat out Tampa Bay's Jon Cooper and St. Louis' Craig Berube for the honour, which is based on regular-season performance. Trotz also won the award with Washington three years ago.

After winning the Stanley Cup and subsequently leaving the Capitals last summer, Trotz engineered an impressive one-season turnaround for the Islanders. New York went 48-27-7 for a 23-point increase from 2018 and its best single-season total since 1983-84, even after losing John Tavares to Toronto.

With files from The Associated Press