Hockeyville Top 16 communites announced

Voting officially opened tonight for the top 16 communities in the running to be crowned Kraft Hockeyville in 2014.

Voting period ends at 11:59 p.m. ET on Monday

It's now up to Canadians to crown the 2014 winner of Kraft Hockeyville.

Voting for the event officially opened after Hockey Night In Canada host Ron MacLean announced the 16 finalists live during Saturday night's broadcast, with this year's edition of the annual contest taking on an East vs. West theme.

Eight communities from Western Canada and eight communities from Eastern Canada are in the running for over $1 million in prizing, including money for arena upgrades as well as the chance to host a preseason NHL game, and they are:

Western Canada

  • Shaw Centre - Salmon Arm, B.C.
  • Marysville Arena - Kimberly, B.C.
  • Sun Bowl Arena - Osoyoos, B.C.
  • Bruderheim Hockey Arena - Bruderheim, Alta.
  • Akinsdale & Kinex Arena - St. Albert, Alta.
  • Medican Multi-plex - Sylvan Lake, Alta.
  • Credit Union iPlex - Swift Current, Sask.
  • Arborg & District Arena - Arborg, Man.

Eastern Canada

  • Richmond Memorial Arena - Richmond, Ont.
  • Leo Boivin Community Centre - Prescott, Ont.
  • Beeton Community Memorial Arena - Beeton, Ont.
  • South Huron Recreation Centre - Exeter, Ont.
  • Aréna du Pateau - Chicoutimi, Que.
  • Credit Union Centre - Kingston, N.S.
  • Amherst Stadium - Amherst, N.S.
  • Bedeque & Area Recreation Centre - Central Bedeque, P.E.I.

All 16 communities announced on Saturday are guaranteed at least $25,000 for arena upgrades.

The communities that survive the first round of voting, which is open now and ends on Monday at 11:59 p.m. ET, will whittle the field down to just four entries, two from the east and two from the west.

Those four communities are guaranteed $50,000, and will continue to be in the running for the overall crown, which will net the winner $100,000, plus a visit from CBC and a preseason NHL game.

Voting is simple, just go online to KraftHockeyville.ca, which is available on your computer and mobile devices.

Click here to vote


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.