Blackhawks' Andrew Shaw has head-butt goal disallowed

Chicago Blackhawks centre Andrew Shaw's goal in the second overtime against the Anaheim Ducks was disallowed Tuesday night after it was determined he head-butted the puck into the net.

Officials rule Chicago centre directed puck into the net

Chicago Blackhawks centre Andrew Shaw head-butts the puck into the net during the second overtime of Game 2 against the Anaheim Ducks, only to have the marker disallowed. (Jae C. Hong/Associated Press)

Talk about using your head.

With the Blackhawks and Anaheim Ducks battling in a 2-2 deadlock during the second overtime Tuesday night, Chicago had a chance to put away Game 2 on the power play.

Blackhawks forward Patrick Kane was stopped by Ducks goalie Frederik Andersen, but the puck bounced directly up.

That's when Chicago centre Andrew Shaw, channeling his inner Lionel Messi, jumped up and headed the puck behind Andersen.

The Blackhawks broke out in celebration and the Ducks were left confused.

However, a review of the play determined Shaw intentionally directed the puck into the net, thus negating the goal.

Undeterred, the Blackhawks rebounded as Marcus Kruger scored at 16:12 of the third overtime, giving Chicago a 3-2 win.

The best-of-seven Western Conference final series is now tied at one game apiece.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?