Canada awarded 2023 women's hockey worlds, U.S. to host in '24

The International Ice Hockey Federation has awarded the 2023 women's world championship to Canada and the 2024 tournament to the United States.

2022 tournament slated for Herning and Frederikshavn, Denmark later this month

Later this month, Canada will begin defence of its women's world hockey championship in Denmark. Next year, the Canadians will host the tournament. (Emily Clark. Jeff McIntosh/Canadian Press)

Canada will host the 2023 women's world hockey championship.

The International Ice Hockey Federation has awarded next year's tournament to Canada and the 2024 championship to the United States, the IIHF confirmed in its "Ice Times" newsletter issued Monday.

Dates and locations have yet to be announced.

The 2022 women's championship -- the first to be held in the same calendar year as an Olympic Games -- is Aug. 25 to Sept. 4 in Herning and Frederikshavn, Denmark.

Defending champion Canada is currently holding a training and selection camp in Calgary.

Calgary ended up the host city of the 2021 women's championship in August after the April tournament was called off in Nova Scotia because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Halifax and Truro, N.S., were hosts of the 2020 championship also cancelled because of the pandemic.

WATCH | Poulin seals 2021 gold medal victory for Canada in OT:

Poulin scores beautiful OT winner to clinch Canada gold at the worlds

2 years ago
Duration 2:22
Marie-Philip Poulin scored a fantastic goal to give Canada the 3-2 win and their first gold medal at the worlds since 2012.

Add some “good” to your morning and evening.

A variety of newsletters you'll love, delivered straight to you.

Sign up now