Iginla finalist for Hart Trophy

Calgary Flames captain Jarome Iginla was named a finalist for the Hart Trophy as the NHL's most valuable player.

The league announced its nominees Wednesday for the seven awards with Iginla, Devils goalie Martin Brodeur and Tampa Bay forward Martin St. Louis as finalists for the top honour.

The winners will be announced June 10 in Toronto.

Iginla scored 41 goals which tied him for top spot with Rick Nash of Columbus and Ilya Kovalchuk of Atlanta.

Iginla, who also added 32 assists in 81 games, was a finalist for the Hart Trophy in 2002 but lost out to Montreal Canadiens goalie Jose Theodore.

He did however win the 2002 Lester B. Pearson Award for the league's top player as voted on by the players.

This is the second consecutive year that Brodeur is nominated for both the Hart and Vezina Trophy, which goes to the top goaltender.

Last season Brodeur won the Vezina but lost the Hart Trophy to Colorado's Peter Forsberg.

Brodeur led all goaltenders this season with 38 wins and 11 shutouts and was fourth with a 2.03 goals-against average.

Brodeur's challengers for the Vezina come in from Calgary's Miikka Kiprusoff and Florida's Roberto Luongo. Kiprusoff was acquired from the San Jose Sharks early in the season a made an immediate impact for the Flames.

He won 24 games and posted a 1.69 GAA, the lowest in the league. Luongo faced more shots (2,475) than any other goaltender and still managed a save percentage of .931.

Montreal Canadiens forward Michael Ryder was rewarded for his fine rookie season as one of the finalists for the Calder Trophy. Ryder joins Bruins goalie Andrew Raycroft and Islanders winger Trent Hunter for the right to win the top rookie honour.

Ryder, who was drafted in the eighth round of the 1998 draft, tied Hunter for goals (25) but posted 12 more assists (38). Raycroft earned 29 wins this year for Boston and his .926 save percentage ranked him fifth in the league.

The list of Norris Trophy finalists, which goes to the top defenceman, was missing one familiar name. For the first time in six years, Niklas Lidstrom, who's won the last three awards, was not nominated.

Instead, Zdeno Chara of Ottawa, Chris Pronger of St. Louis and Scott Niedermayer of New Jersey will be vying for the prize.

Chara was solid for the Senators as he scored 16 goals and added 25 assists, but more importantly, posted one of the top plus-minus ratings in the league at plus-33.

Pronger, who won the award in 2000, played in 80 games and scored 54 points. Niedermayer had to play a bigger role for New Jersey this season because of the concussion suffered by Devils captain Scott Stevens. Niedermayer also posted 54 points and was a plus-20 in 81 games.

Other Awards

Frank J. Selke Trophy (Defensive Forward)

John Madden, New Jersey; Kris Draper, Detroit; Alyn McCauley; San Jose

Jack Adams (Top Coach)

John Tortorella, Tampa Bay; Darryl Sutter, Calgary; Ron Wilson; San Jose

with files from Canadian Press