Flames added to NHL all-star rosters

Calgary Flames defenceman Dion Phaneuf and goaltender Miikka Kiprusoff were added to the Western Conference All-Star team Saturday as the NHL rounded out its star-studded rosters.

Calgary Flames defenceman Dion Phaneuf and goaltender Miikka Kiprusoff were named to the Western Conference All-Star team Saturday as the NHL rounded out its star-studded rosters.

The NHL All-Star Game on Jan. 24 in Dallas will be the first for both players.

Phaneuf, a bruising 21-year-old blue-liner, was named to the NHL's all-rookie team last season, while the 30-year-old Kiprusoff captured the Vezina Trophy as the top goaltender in the league last year.

The starting lineups for the East and West teams — decided by fan voting — were announced on Tuesday.

The top vote getter on the Eastern Conference squad was super sophomore Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins with 825,783 votes.

At 19 years, five months, Crosby is the youngest player voted to start the all-star game since fan balloting began in 1986.

Crosby is joined in the Eastern Conference lineup by five other first-time starters: Alex Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals; goaltender Ryan Miller, defenceman Brian Campbell and forward Daniel Briere all of the Buffalo Sabres; and Montreal Canadiens defenceman Sheldon Souray.

Sharks well represented

San Jose Sharks centre Joe Thornton led all Western Conference players in voting, and will be making his second consecutive all-star start.

Thornton's linemates will be Colorado Avalanche centre Joe Sakic, voted a starter for the fourth time, and the Sharks' Jonathan Cheechoo.

On the blue-line will be stalwarts Scott Niedermayer of the Anaheim Ducks and Nicklas Lidstrom of the Detroit Red Wings, while in goal will be first-time all-star starter Roberto Luongo of the Canucks.

Two familiar names weren't on the all-star rosters when they were announced Saturday on CBC's Hockey Day in Canada: Jarome Iginla of the Flames and Jaromir Jagr of the New York Rangers.

Iginla, who played in each of the last three all-star games, is currently sidelined with a knee injury. He has 23 goals and 53 points in 39 games this season.

Jagr, a nine-time all-star, is tied for fifth in the league with 58 points going into Saturday's action. The Czech Republic native will use the all-star break to rehab his left shoulder, which he had off-season surgery on, and rest a nagging hip injury.

Rounding out the stars

On the East side, goaltender Martin Brodeur will be heading to his ninth all-star game in his 14-year career.The New Jersey Devils backstopper has 26 wins in 42 games this season and is second in the league with a 2.07 goals-against average.

Should Brodeur help the East to a victory, he would tie Glenn Hall's all-star record of four wins. He has a 3-1 career record and is fourth among goalies in all-star appearances, trailing Hall (13), and Terry Sawchuk and Patrick Roy, who each made 11.

All six Canadian NHL teams will be represented in the Jan. 24 contest. Montreal goaltender Cristobal Huet joins Canadiens teammate Souray on the East squad, while defenceman Tomas Kaberle and right-winger Dany Heatley will represent the Toronto Maple Leafs and Ottawa Senators, respectively.

Hard working Edmonton Oilers forward Ryan Smyth was named to the West squad where he'll play with Northwest Division rivals Luongo of the Canucks and Phaneuf and Kiprusoff of the Flames.

Western Conferenceall-stars:

  • Roberto Luongo, G, Vancouver
  • Miikka Kiprusoff, G, Calgary
  • Marty Turco, G, Dallas
  • Scott Niedermayer, D, Anaheim
  • Nicklas Lidstrom, D, Detroit
  • Philippe Boucher, D, Dallas
  • Dion Phaneuf, D, Calgary
  • Kimmo Timonen, D, Nashville
  • Lubomir Visnovsky, D, Los Angeles
  • Joe Thornton, F, San Jose
  • Jonathan Cheechoo, F, San Jose
  • Joe Sakic, F, Colorado
  • Bill Guerin, F, St. Louis
  • Martin Havlat, F, Chicago
  • Patrick Marleau, F, San Jose
  • Rick Nash, F, Columbus
  • Yanic Perreault, F, Phoenix
  • Brian Rolston, F, Minnesota
  • Teemu Selanne, F, Anaheim
  • Ryan Smyth, F, Edmonton
  • Henrik Zetterberg, F, Detroit

Eastern Conferenceall-stars:

  • Ryan Miller, G, Buffalo
  • Martin Brodeur, G, New Jersey
  • Cristobal Huet, G, Montreal
  • Sheldon Souray, D, Montreal
  • Brian Campbell, D, Buffalo
  • Jay Bouwmeester, D, Florida
  • Zdeno Chara, D, Boston
  • Tomas Kaberle, D, Toronto
  • Brian Rafalski, D, New Jersey
  • Sydney Crosby, F, Pittsburgh
  • Alexander Ovechkin, F, Washington
  • Daniel Briere, F, Buffalo
  • Jason Blake, F, New York Islanders
  • Simon Gagne, F, Philadelphia
  • Dany Heatley, F, Ottawa
  • Marian Hossa, F, Atlanta
  • Vincent Lecavalier, F, Tampa Bay
  • Martin St. Louis, F, Tampa Bay
  • Brendan Shanahan, F, New York Rangers
  • Eric Staal, F, Carolina
  • Justin Williams, F, Carolina