Golf

Villegas disqualified from Tournament of Champions

The Tournament of Champions in Kapalua, Hawaii, lost another star player Friday when Camilo Villegas was disqualified for a rules violation that a television viewer called in after the opening round.

The Tournament of Champions in Kapalua, Hawaii, lost another star player Friday when Camilo Villegas was disqualified for a rules violation that a television viewer called in after the opening round.

Villegas was chipping up the slope to the 15th green when the ball twice came back at him. The second time, he casually swatted away a loose piece of grass by the divot as the ball was still moving down the slope.

That was a violation of Rule 23-1, and he should have taken a two-shot penalty. Villegas opened with a 72, so he was disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard.

Villegas watched video to confirm the penalty and did not protest. Making it worse, Friday is his 29th birthday.

On Thursday, two-time defending champion Geoff Ogilvy withdrew because of a freak injury to his finger.

now