1961 Grey Cup Classic

CFL: Winnipeg Blue Bombers 21, Hamilton Tiger-Cats 14 (OT)

Grey Cup, Dec. 2, 1961

Final Score: Winnipeg Blue Bombers 21, Hamilton Tiger-Cats 14 (OT) Attendance: 32,651 at Exhibition Stadium, Toronto

The 1961 Grey Cup remains the only CFL title game decided in overtime.

It also marked the fourth time in five years that the championship was decided between the Blue Bombers and Tiger-Cats.

Hamilton prevailed in 1957, while Winnipeg won in 1958 and 1959.

Bernie Faloney entered the contest as CFL MVP, but failed to outperform Blue Bombers quarterback Ken Ploen.

Ultimately, it was Ploen's dazzling 19-yard touchdown with 6:58 left in OT which won it for Winnipeg.

The decade-long rivalry was renewed the next year, too, in the famous Fog Bowl played over two days.

Ken Ploen was named Most Valuable Player.