Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame announces inductees

The Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame will welcome several new members to their exclusive club in a ceremony this April.

Diver Annie Pelletier and basketball player and coach Bev Smith headline the list of this year's inductees into the Hall.

Joining Pelletier and Smith at the induction ceremony April 25 will be canoeist Ken Lane, the '84 Canadian men's eight rowing team and diving official Eldon Godfrey, the Canadian Olympic Committee announced Tuesday.

The Canadian Olympic Order will also be awarded posthumously to Harold Wright, who competed in track and field at the '32 Games and later headed up Canada's Olympic governing body from 1969 to 1977.

Pelletier, a Montreal native, was the first Canadian diver to win a medal at the world championships. She retired from the sport after winning a bronze medal at the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta.

Smith, from Salmon Arm, B.C., is considered this country's most prolific female basketball player. Smith's career with the Canadian national women's basketball team spanned almost two decades, highlighted by two appearances in the Olympics, in 1984 and 1996.

Smith went to the Olympics again in 2000 as the head coach of the Canadian team in Sydney.

Lane, from Toronto, and partner Don Hawgood won a silver medal in canoeing at the 1952 Olympics. Lane has also contributed to canoeing in Canada as an administrator and official since he first entered the sport in 1937.

Also headed to the Hall is the 1984 men's eight rowing team, which won gold at the 1984 Los Angeles Games. The crew of Dean Crawford, Mark Evans, Mike Evans, Blair Horn, Grant Main, Brian McMahon (cox), Kevin Neufeld, Paul Steele and Pat Turner, collected Canada's first medal of those Games. Neil Campbell, who also was a rowing Olympian in 1968, coached the team.

Godfrey, from Calgary, is a former president of the Canadian Amateur Diving Association and was the founding president of the University of Calgary Diving Club. Internationally, Godfrey has served as a member of the Executive Committee of UANA (the organization representing the Pan American aquatic sports) as well as the International Diving Technical Committee.

Wright was born in Winnipeg and competed in track and field (100 metres, 200 metres and 4x100 relay) at the 1932 Olympic Games in Los Angeles. Wright, a former president of the Canadian Field Hockey Association (1964 to 1968), went on to become the president of the Canadian Olympic Association (now COC) in 1969. He held that post until 1977.

Wright, who died in 1997, is a recipient of the Order of Canada and was awarded the IOC's Olympic Order in 1979.

with files from Canadian Press