Ex-Blue Jays knuckleballer R.A. Dickey among 14 newcomers on Baseball Hall ballot

Former Blue Jays pitcher R.A. Dickey is among 14 newcomers on the Baseball Writers' Association of America's Hall of Fame ballot. Ex-Toronto players Scott Rolen and Jeff Kent are holdovers, the latter in his 10th and final year on the ballot.

Former Toronto infielders Rolen, Kent are holdovers, the latter in final year on ballot

Former Blue Jays pitcher R.A. Dickey is among the newcomers on the Baseball Writers' Association of America's Hall of Fame ballot. Results will be announced Jan. 24. (Duane Burleson/Getty Images/File)

Carlos Beltran, John Lackey and Jered Weaver, along with former Toronto Blue Jays pitcher R.A. Dickey, are among 14 newcomers on the Baseball Writers' Association of America's Hall of Fame ballot in what could turn into an evaluation of the Houston Astros' cheating scandal.

Huston Street, Francisco Rodriguez, Bronson Arroyo and Matt Cain also are new to the ballot, joined by Jacoby Ellsbury, Jayson Werth, Mike Napoli, J.J. Hardy, Jhonny Peralta and Andre Ethier, the Hall and the BBWAA said Monday.

Holdovers include ex-Blue Jays third baseman Scott Rolen, Todd Helton and Billy Wagner. Rolen received 249 of 394 votes last year (63.2 per cent), 44 votes more than Helton (52%) and 48 more than Wagner (51%).

Voters denied several stars tainted by steroids and scandal.

Barry Bonds (260 votes, 66%) and Curt Schilling (231, 58.6%) were dropped after their 10th appearances on the ballot last year and are among eight players who will appear on the ballot of the Hall's contemporary baseball era committee, which meets Dec. 4 in San Diego ahead of baseball's winter meetings.

Other holdovers on the BBWAA ballot include Andruw Jones (163 votes last year, 41.1%, Alex Rodriguez (135, 34.3, Manny Ramirez (114, 28.9, Andy Pettitte (42, 10.7, Bobby Abreu (34, 8.6 and Torii Hunter (21, 5.3).

Infielder Jeff Kent, another one-time Blue Jay who received his highest percentage last year at 32.7, will appear on the BBWAA ballot for the 10th and final time. Kent hit 377 home runs for six teams over 17 seasons.

Induction ceremony on July 23

BBWAA members with 10 or more consecutive years of membership are eligible to vote. Ballots must be postmarked by Dec. 31 and results will be announced Jan. 24.

Last year, David Ortiz was the only player elected to the Hall of Fame. Candidates whose names appear on at least 75 per cent of the 2023 ballots cast by the voting BBWAA members will be enshrined in Cooperstown, N.Y., in July along with anyone elected by the contemporary baseball era committee.

A nine-time all-star, Beltran had a .279 batting average, 435 home runs, 1,587 runs batted in and 312 stolen bases for Kansas City, Houston, New York Mets, San Francisco, St. Louis, the Yankees and Texas.

He was hired as Mets manager on Nov. 1, 2019, then was fired on Jan. 16 without having managed a game, three days after he was the only Astros player mentioned by name in a report by Major League Baseball regarding the team's illicit use of electronics to steal signs during Houston's run to the 2017 World Series.

Alex Rodriguez, a three-time MVP and 14-time all-star who hit 696 home runs, was suspended for the 2014 season for violating MLB's drug policy and collective bargaining agreement, and Ortiz's name was alleged to have appeared on a list of players who tested positive during 2003 survey testing.

Lackey won Game 7 of the 2002 World Series for the Anaheim Angels as a rookie, then added World Series titles with the 2013 Boston Red Sox and the 2016 Chicago Cubs. He was 188-147 with a 3.92 earned-run average in 15 seasons and 8-6 with a 3.44 ERA in the post-season.

Weaver, a three-time all-star, was 150-98 with a 3.63 ERA.

With files from CBC Sports & Field Level Media

Add some “good” to your morning and evening.

A variety of newsletters you'll love, delivered straight to you.

Sign up now


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?