Derek Jeter, 5-time World Series champ, tops 2020 Hall of Fame ballot

Former New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter is among 18 newcomers on the 2020 Hall of Fame ballot. The 14-time all-star and five-time World Series champion hit .310 with 3,465 hits in 20 seasons.

Former Expos outfielder Larry Walker among holdovers

Former Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter, who won five World Series, headlines 18 newcomers on baseball's 2020 Hall of Fame ballot. (Jeff Gross/Getty Images/File)

Derek Jeter is among 18 newcomers on the 2020 Hall of Fame ballot. He is likely to be an overwhelming choice to join former New York Yankees teammate Mariano Rivera in Cooperstown after the reliever last year became the first unanimous pick by the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

A 14-time all-star shortstop and five-time World Series champion, Jeter hit .310 with 3,465 hits in 20 seasons. He was the 1996 American League rookie of the year. He has been CEO of the Miami Marlins the past two seasons.

WATCH | Yankees retire Derek Jeter's No. 2:

Jeter was honoured by fans and former teammates before Sunday's game vs the Astros. 0:26

Other newcomers announced Monday by the BBWAA include Cliff Lee, Josh Beckett, Jason Giambi, Paul Konerko, Rafael Furcal, Bobby Abreu and Alfonso Soriano.

Holdovers include Curt Schilling, who received 60.9, Barry Bonds (59.1. Schilling rose from 51.2 per cent in 2018. Walker, on the ballot for their 10th and final time this year, increased from 34.1 per cent in 2018.

Bonds and Clemens, whose candidacies have been tainted by allegations of steroids use, are both on for the eighth time. Clemens rose from 57.3 per cent in 2018 and Bonds from 56.4.

Ballots are sent to more than 400 BBWAA members with at least 10 consecutive years in the organization, and a player must appear on at least 75 per cent to gain election. Ballots must be mailed by Dec. 31, and results will be announced Jan. 21.

Anyone elected will be inducted July 26 along with any selections by the Hall's modern era committee, which meets and votes at San Diego on Dec. 8.

Players remain on the ballot for up to 10 years, provided they receive at least five per cent of the vote annually.

Roy Halladay, Edgar Martinez and Mike Mussina were elected along with Rivera in the 2019 BBWAA vote.

The ballot

  • Bobby Abreu
  • Josh Beckett
  • Heath Bell
  • Barry Bonds
  • Eric Chavez
  • Roger Clemens
  • Adam Dunn
  • Chone Figgins
  • Rafael Furcal
  • Jason Giambi
  • Todd Helton
  • Raul Ibanez
  • Derek Jeter
  • Andruw Jones
  • Jeff Kent
  • Paul Konerko
  • Cliff Lee
  • Carlos Pena
  • Brad Penny
  • Andy Pettitte
  • J.J. Putz
  • Manny Ramirez
  • Brian Roberts
  • Scott Rolen
  • Curt Schilling
  • Gary Sheffield
  • Alfonso Soriano
  • Sammy Sosa
  • Jose Valverde
  • Omar Vizquel
  • Billy Wagner
  • Larry Walker


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.