The Next Chapter·Like This? Love That

If you liked The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle, you'll love Things No One Else Can Teach Us by Humble the Poet

The Next Chapter columnist Victor Dwyer finds a Canadian counterpart to the international bestselling self-help book.
Victor Dwyer is an editor and columnist. (Sinisa Jolic, CBC)

This segment originally aired on Jan. 2, 2021.

The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle is an international bestseller about the importance of living in the present moment and transcending thoughts of the past or future.

The Next Chapter columnist Victor Dwyer has read The Power of Now and says if you enjoyed that self-help book you should check out the Canadian self-help book Things No One Else Can Teach Us by Toronto author and hip-hop artist Humble the Poet.

The bestselling book looks at living your best life and finding personal happiness.

The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle

Eckhart Tolle is a spiritual teacher. He is a German-born resident of Canada best known as the author of The Power of Now. (New World Library, eckharttolle.com)

"I like The Power of Now, in that it's a little less 'touchy-feely' than a lot of self-help books. It's almost like this coolly epistemological look at dealing with life and dealing with what he calls, 'the voices in your head' that are constantly taking you to places you don't want to be, which are the enemy.

"There are these constant forces that are pulling you into the past and the future and worrying and regretting and complaining and thinking.

"His biggest simple lesson is you exist in the now — and our minds have developed into these 'thinking things' that have taken us as a species. As individuals, you need to think and you need to plan and you need to remember."

Things No One Else Can Teach Us by Humble the Poet

Things No One Else Can Teach Us is a nonfiction book by Humble the Poet. (CBC, HarperCollins Canada)

"Humble the Poet is an interesting guy. He's from Toronto. He's a former grade school teacher. He's a hip-hop and spoken word artist. He's become a spiritual guru of sorts, through his blog and his books. 

"Like Eckhart Tolle, Humble the Poet champions the importance of living in the present. He even has a tattoo on his hand, that just says, 'Now.' He writes in the book about how he has always struggled to find beauty, as he puts it, 'In the circumstances in front of me, not the fantasies between my ears.' 

"Humble the Poet looks at a lot of the same themes as Tolle. But unlike Tolle, whose book is at a very cool end of the spectrum in terms of the tone, this book is more visceral and boisterous and warm."

Victor Dwyer's comments have been edited for length and clarity.

Add some “good” to your morning and evening.

A variety of newsletters you'll love, delivered straight to you.

Sign up now

Comments

To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?

now