The Next Chapter·Like That? Love This

If you liked All the Pretty Horses by Cormac McCarthy, read this award-winning Canadian novel

The Next Chapter listener Heather Touet reveals why Patrick deWitt's The Sisters Brothers is the perfect Canadian counterpart to Cormac McCarthy's classic novel.
If you liked reading Cormac McCarthy's novel All the Pretty Horses, pick up Patrick deWitt's The Sisters Brothers. (Penguin Random House/House of Anansi)
Listen0:58

This interview originally aired on Jan. 7, 2019.

Cormac McCarthy's 1993 book All the Pretty Horses was both a critical and commercial success, winning the National Book Award for fiction, becoming a national bestseller and being adapted for film. The Next Chapter listener Heather Touet believes the Canadian counterpart to the novel is Patrick deWitt's The Sisters Brothers, which is also an award-winning, bestselling novel that has been adapted for film.

"I confess I don't really like western novels or western movies or western anything. But I happened to read Cormac McCarthy's All the Pretty Horses a few years ago and I loved it. It's a bit depressing, as most of his books are, but it spoke to me.

"So when I heard about Patrick deWitt's The Sisters BrothersI thought I should give a Canadian author's western a chance. Overall, I really loved it. Again, it was a non-traditional narrative. It was definitely more funny than All the Pretty Horses, but it involved two rogues travelling through the road in western times, getting into adventures."

Heather Touet's comments have been edited for length and clarity.

Comments

To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.