q news: Room wins big at the Canadian Screen Awards

q news correspondent Mitch Pollock scans the latest arts and entertainment headlines to keep you in the know.
Nine-year-old Jacob Tremblay won Best Actor in a Leading Role for Room (Evan Mitsui/CBC)

q news correspondent Mitch Pollock scans the latest arts and entertainment headlines to keep you in the know. Today: 

  • Recap of the Canadian Screen Awards 2016: Schitt's Creek, Orphan Black and Room win big. 
  • Eagles of Death Metal's Jesse Hughes apologizes for suggesting Bataclan attack inside job
  • Iron Maiden's Ed Force One badly damaged in Chile. 

WEB EXTRA | Here's the full list of CSA winners


  • Best Comedy Series: Schitt's Creek (CBC) 
  • Best Dramatic Series: 19-2 (Bravo!) 
  • Best International Drama: Vikings (History Channel Canada)
  • Best Performance by an Actor in a Continuing Leading Comedic Role: 
    Eugene Levy, Carl's Funeral, Schitt's Creek 
  • Best Performance by an Actor in a Continuing Leading Dramatic Role:  Ari Millen, Newer Elements of Our Defence, Orphan Black 
  • Best Performance by an Actress in a Continuing Leading Comedic Role: Catherine O'Hara, Don't Worry, It's His Sister, Schitt's Creek
  • Best Performance by an Actress in a Continuing Leading Dramatic Role: Tatiana Maslany, Certain Agony of the Battlefield, Orphan Black 
  • Best Performance in a Variety or Sketch Comedy Program or Series: Sunnyside  (Rogers Media)
  • Best TV Movie or Limited Series: The Book of Negroes (CBC) 


  • Achievement in Art Direction / Production Design: Ethan Tobman, Mary Kirkland Room
  • Achievement in Cinematography: Yves Bélanger, Brooklyn
  • Achievement in Costume Design: Joanne Hansen,  Beeba Boys
  • Achievement in Direction: Lenny Abrahamson, Room
  • Achievement in Editing: Nathan Nugent, Room
  • Achievement in Make-Up, Sid Armour, Jennifer Gould, Room
  • Achievement in Music - Original Score: Michael Brook, Brooklyn
  • Achievement in Music - Original Song: Jenny Salgado, André Courcy, Scratch - A Hip-opera
  • Achievement in Overall Sound: Lou Solakofski, Ian Rankin, Joe Morrow, Russ Dyck, Graham Rogers, James Bastable, André Azoubel, Don White, Jack Hereen, Hyena Road
  • Achievement in Sound Editing: Jane Tattersall, David McCallum, Martin Gwynn Jones, Barry Gilmore, David Evans, Dave Rose, Brennan Mercer, Ed Douglas, Kevin Banks, Goro Koyama, Andy Malcolm, Hyena Road
  • Achievement in Visual Effects: Phil Jones, Sarah Wormsbecher, Eric Doiron, Anthony DeChellis, Lon Molnar, Geoff D.E. Scott, Nathan Larouche, Mark Fordhamm, Hyena Road
  • Adapted Screenplay: Emma Donoghue, Room
  • Best Animated Short: Hector Herrera, Pazit Cahlon, The Ballad Of Immortal Joe
  • Best Cinematography in a Feature Length Documentary: Arnaud Bouquet,  Last of the Elephant Men
  • Best Editing in a Feature Length Documentary: James Scott, How to Change the World
  • Best Live Action Short Drama: Zack Russell, Marianna Khoury, She Stoops To Conquer 
  • Best Motion Picture: Room, David Gross, Ed Guiney
  • Best Short Documentary: Bacon & God's Wrath, Sol Friedman
  • Original Screenplay: Benjamin August,  Remember
  • Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role: Jacob Tremblay, Room
  • Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role: Nick Serino, Sleeping Giant
  • Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role: Brie Larson, Room
  • Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role: Joan Allen, Room
  • Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary: Hurt, Peter Gentile, Alan Zweig


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.