Radio

New shows for CBC Radio's fall Sunday lineup

Fall 2020 brings new changes to CBC Radio One programming on Sundays. Here's what you need to know.
Fall 2020 is bringing new changes to the CBC Radio One lineup on Sundays. From left: Ian Hanomansing will be hosting Cross Country Checkup, Piya Chattopadhyay will be hosting The Sunday Magazine, Falen Johnson will be hosting Unreserved, and Laura Lynch is hosting What On Earth. (CBC, CBC, Liz Beddall, CBC )

Fall 2020 is bringing new changes to CBC Radio One programming on Sundays that we're excited to tell you about, including new programs, new hosts, new ideas and new sounds.

Here's what you need to know about how the day will unfold, starting with The Sunday Magazine.

The Sunday Magazine

Piya Chattopadhyay, host of CBC Radio's The Sunday Magazine. (CBC)

The Sunday Edition with Michael Enright has ended, as Michael moves on to anchoring a new, one-hour CBC Radio program that is in development. A new program will air Sunday mornings, called The Sunday Magazine — a lively and wide-ranging CBC Radio One program that helps you make sense of our changing world and reflects upon ideas in the air. Host Piya Chattopadhyay brings you a smart mix of long-form conversations that cut deep and mine the forces driving our society, politics and cultures today. Every weekend, we take time for deep exploration, but always make space for music, surprise, delight and fun.

Chattopadhyay begins her role as The Sunday Magazine host on Sept. 13. The program will air weekly on Sundays at 9 a.m. (9:30 NT) on CBC Radio One.

The Doc Project

Acey Rowe (CBC)

The Doc Project, CBC Radio's award-winning long-form documentary show hosted by Acey Rowe, is delighted to bring in-depth Canadian documentaries to Sunday mornings. Working with documentary makers from across the country, The Doc Project dives deep into stories you can't stop thinking about. 

The Doc Project currently airs Wednesday from 11:30 a.m. to noon. It will now also air after The Sunday MagazineSundays from 11 a.m. to 12 p.m. 

What on Earth

Veteran CBC political reporter and foreign correspondent Laura Lynch is host of What on Earth. (CBC)

What on Earth, the CBC Radio program and podcast about climate change, continues this fall, airing on Sundays at 12:30 p.m. (1 p.m. NT.)

There are a lot of questions, ideas and emotions about climate change. Whether you feel scared, excluded, curious, or overwhelmed — What On Earth hears you. Host Laura Lynch understands we're at a pivotal time for shaping our future. Tune in as she explores your experiences, grapples with the challenges and examines the potential solutions. 

Cross Country Checkup

Ian Hanomansing will be hosting Cross Country Checkup on Sundays, while Duncan McCue steps away for a fellowship. (CBC)

Ian Hanomansing is the interim host of Cross Country Checkup for the 2020-2021 season — the 55th year of Canada's only national call-in show.

Host Duncan McCue is taking an eight-month hiatus from the program to join four other journalists for Massey College's William Southam Journalism Fellowship.

Cross Country Checkup airs live on Sundays at 1 p.m. PT, 2 p.m. MT, 3 p.m. CT, 4 p.m. ET, 5 p.m. AT and 5:30 p.m. NT

Unreserved

Rosanna Deerchild is stepping away from Unreserved this season to work on the forthcoming This Place podcast, which she will host. (CBC, Portage & Main Press)

Unreserved host Rosanna Deerchild is temporarily leaving the program to host a new podcast based on This Placethe bestselling graphic novel anthology that tells 150 years of Canadian history through Indigenous stories.

The 10-episode series will air on CBC Radio One in 2021.

Falen Johnson joins Unreserved as host for the 2020-21 season. (Liz Beddall)

The new host for Unreserved is Falen Johnson, who is Mohawk and Tuscarora from Six Nations of the Grand River Territory in southern Ontario. Previously, she co-created and co-hosted The Secret Life of Canada for CBC Podcasts. 

Learn more about Falen Johnson here, as she answers five questions about her new gig. Unreserved airs on Sundays at 7 p.m.

now