The 2017 Sobey Art Award: The New Masters

The 2017 Sobey Art Award: The New Masters
Ursula Johnson, winner of the 2017 Sobey Art Award.

In today's art we often see the future.

The Sobey Art Award, created in 2002, is Canada's preeminent award for contemporary Canadian art. It's a celebration of the next big thing in the art world.The annual prize is given to an artist 40 years of age, or under, who has exhibited in a public or commercial art gallery within 18 months of being nominated. In addition to the $50,000 prize awarded to the winner of the Sobey Art Award, each of the four short-listed artists are awarded $10,000 and $1,000 is awarded to each of the remaining long-listed artists.

The five regional finalists are profiled over two shows. From West Coast and the Yukon: Raymond Boisjoly. Prairies and the North: Divya Mehra. Ontario: Bridget Moser. Quebec: Jacynthe Carrier. Atlantic: Ursula Johnson. The programs are produced in partnership with The National Gallery of Canada. The 2-part series will air January 17 & 24, 2018. 

The winner of the 2017 Sobey Art Award is: Ursula Johnson.

View past awards


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversationCreate account

Already have an account?