William Faulkner once said – you can present the truth plainly, or put it in a chalice. Frederic Chopin presented his in the most filigreed of chalices.

Frédéric Chopin’s stunningly original take on the piano represents the ultimate of the Romantic piano tradition. He composed this concerto and the Piano Concerto No.1 in E Minor within a year of one another when he was barely finished his formal studies. They were written in reverse order. The F minor was begun in autumn 1829 and premiered on March 3, 1830. Chopin wrote to a friend that his Adagio for Concerto No.2 had been inspired by tender feelings he had for one Constantia Gladkowska, a vocal student at the Warsaw Conservatory, "whom I dream of."

Chopin Piano Concerto No.2 in F minor, Opus 21

Mov't 1 Martha Argerich/OSM/Dutoit
EMI CLASSICS 7243 5 56798

Mov't 2 Emanuel Ax/Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment/MacKerras
SONY SK 63371

Mov't 3 Pogorelich/Chicago/Abbado
DGG 410 507-2