Back to accessibility links

Same-sex marriage rights by U.S. state

Map: 17 states, D.C., allow marriage between same-sex partners or have legislation about to take effect

Last Updated: Feb. 26, 2014

Same-sex marriage continues to be one of the most divisive issues in U.S. politics. President Barack Obama has jumped into the controversy, expressing his support for same-sex marriage rights, while the Supreme Court has handed down two major rulings on the subject.

But until now, the question has been largely decided at the state level. Seventeen states and the District of Columbia allow same-sex marriage, or soon will. A handful of states allow civil unions or domestic partnerships, but most others ban same-sex marriage by statute.

Sources: Freedom to Marry, CBC News stories, wire service reports

Not shown: Alaska has legislation against same-sex marriage. Hawaii began allowing same-sex marriages in December 2013. The District of Columbia began allowing same-sex marriages in December 2009.

Story Social Media

End of Story Social Media

Week in politics

Week in entertainment