Ukraine crisis: Canada imposes more sanctions on Russia

Canada is imposing sanctions on two Russian companies and nine individuals, following a third round of sanctions against Russia by the White House amid worsening violence in eastern Ukraine.

Fight for eastern Ukraine

9 years ago
Duration 2:48
A Ukrainian militia secretly trains to defend their land and themselves, CBC's Nahlah Ayed reports

Canada has released the names of the two Russian companies and nine individuals it is imposing economic sanctions and travel bans on, following a move by the United States earlier today to step up economic pressure on Russia over the crisis in Ukraine.

Canada is imposing economic sanctions on ExpoBank and RosEnergoBank and the following nine Russian individuals:

  • Vyaecheslav Volodin, first deputy chief.
  • Presidential administration Dmitry Kozak, deputy premier, head of Crimean economy.
  • Aleksey Pushkov, chair of Duma international relations committee.
  • Alexander Mikhailovich Babakov, chair of the Duma commission on legislative provisions for development of the military-industrial complex of the Russian Federation.
  • Oleg Evgenyevich Belaventsev, Russian presidential envoy to the Crimean district; member of the Russian security council.
  • Evgeniy Alexsevevich Morov, director of the Federal Protective Service of the Russian Federation.
  • Vladimir Volfovich Zhirinovsky, founder and leader of the Liberal Democratic Party of Russia.
  • Arkady Rotenberg, Russian businessman.
  • Boris Rotenberg, Russian businessman

"Our government has been very clear that any further intimidation or actions to de-stabilize the Ukrainian government will result in consequences," Prime Minister Stephen Harper said in a statement Monday.

"The illegal occupation of Ukraine continues and Russia's military aggression persists.

"Until Russia clearly demonstrates its respect for Ukraine's sovereignty and territorial integrity, Canada will continue to work with its allies and like-minded countries to apply pressure that will further isolate Russia economically and politically," Harper said.

The federal government also announced today that six CF-18 fighter jets Canada is sending to assist NATO operations in eastern Europe will be stationed in Romania.

Defence Minister Rob Nicholson made the official announcement in question period today.  "In response to a NATO request to support our collective security and show our solidarity with the people of Ukraine, we will be deploying six CF-18 planes to Europe," Nicholson said. 

"They will be leaving from Bagotville (Que.,) and they will be based in Romania. These jets will support air policing and training missions."  

The United States announced its third round of sanctions Monday morning amid increasing violence in eastern Ukraine, slapping sanctions on seven Russian government officials and 17 companies linked to Russian President Vladimir Putin.

The U.S. also revoked licenses for some high-tech items that could be used by the Russian military.

The White House said this round of sanctions is in response to Putin's failure to follow through with the April 17 agreement in Geneva.

The seven individuals will be subject to a freeze on any assets they hold in the U.S. and a ban on travel. The 17 companies assets have been frozen.

More to come

With files from The Associated Press