Chris Hadfield, Mark Carney among Order of Canada recipients honoured at Rideau Hall

Governor General David Johnston presided over a ceremony today to invest 45 recipients into the Order of Canada today. The ceremony at Rideau Hall honoured retired Canadian astronaut Chris Hadfield, former Bank of Canada Governor Mark Carney and Canadian rock music icons Jim Cuddy and Greg Keelor of Blue Rodeo.

Astronaut, banker, and rock band icons among the Canadians celebrated at ceremony

Former governor of the Bank of Canada and current Governor of the Bank of England Mark Carney is invested as an Officer of the Order of Canada by Governor General David Johnston at Rideau Hall in Ottawa, on Wednesday, Nov. 18, 2015. (Justin Tang/The Canadian Press)

Governor General David Johnston presided over a ceremony today to invest 45 recipients into the Order of Canada — 12 officers and 33 members.

The ceremony at Rideau Hall honoured retired Canadian astronaut Chris Hadfield, former Bank of Canada governor Mark Carney and Canadian rock music icons Jim Cuddy and Greg Keelor of Blue Rodeo.  

Blue Rodeo founders enter Order of Canada

6 years ago
Singer-songwriter Jim Cuddy on receiving the Canadian honour with band co-founder Greg Keelor 6:22

It also honoured the late philanthropist Joe Rotman, former chair of the Canada Council for the Arts, with the Meritorious Service Cross.

The Order of Canada was created in 1967, Canada's centennial year, to recognize outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. More than 6,000 people from all sectors of society have been invested into the Order, according to the Governor General's office.

Here is a full list of recipients. More information on their achievements can be found here.


Joseph Rotman (deceased), Toronto


Mark Carney, London, U.K. and Ottawa

Harvey Max Chochinov, Winnipeg

James Gordon Cuddy, Toronto

Judson Graham Day, Hantsport, N.S.

Gerald Hunter Finley, Mark Cross, Crowborough, U.K. and Montreal

Catherine Frazee, Canning, N.S.

Col. Chris Austin Hadfield (Ret'd), Sarnia, Ont.

James Gregory Keelor, Toronto

Mark Lautens,  Toronto

Wendy Levinson, Toronto

The Hon. Allen Linden, Toronto

James Rodger Miller, Saskatoon


The Hon. Jacob Austin, Vancouver

Kenneth MacClure Baird, Ottawa

Mitchell A. Baran. (deceased) London, Ont.

Daniel Bertolino, Montreal

Josiane Boulad-Ayoub, Montreal

Wendy Marion Cecil, Toronto

Jagannath Prasad Das, Edmonton

Michael DeGagné, North Bay, Ont.

Edgar J. Dosman, Toronto.

Marcia "Kappy" Flanders, Montreal

Brenda Louise Gallie, Toronto

Christophe Guy, Montreal

Mel Hoppenheim, Montreal

Monique Jérôme-Forget, Montreal

Patrick Johnston, Roslin, Ont.

Donna Soble Kaufman, Toronto

Guy Gavriel Kay, Toronto

Arthur Alexander Kube, Surrey, B.C.

Grégoire Legendre, Quebec, Que.

Jens Lindemann, Pacific Palisades, California and Edmonton

Michel Louvain, Montreal

Keith MacLellan, Bristol, Que.

Thomas J. Marrie, Halifax

The Hon. Michael A. Meighen, Toronto

Fiona Nelson, Toronto

Cal Nichols, Edmonton,

Charles E. Pascal, Toronto

Hubert Sacy, Montreal

H. Olav Slaymaker, Vancouver

Morley Torgov, Toronto

Barbara Turnbull (deceased), Toronto

V. Prem Watsa, Toronto

H. Bruce Williams, Montreal


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?