Ralph Klein, Pat Quinn named to Order of Canada

Former Alberta premier Ralph Klein and longtime NHL coach and player Pat Quinn are among 70 Canadians appointed to the Order of Canada.

GG honours accomplishments in politics, sports, journalism, and the arts

Rideau Hall has released the latest list of appointees to the Order of Canada.

The newest recipients are being honoured for their achievements in politics, sports, journalism, the arts and a host of other fields.

Three Canadians have been named Companions of the Order of Canada. They are the Honourable Ian Binnie, a former Supreme Court justice, historian Natalie Zemon Davis and musical conductor Yannick Nézet-Séguin.

Another 25 have been named Officers of the Order of Canada.

They include former NHL player and coach Pat Quinn, journalists Craig Oliver and Chantal Hébert and former Alberta premier Ralph Klein.

Ralph Klein in September 2006. The former Alberta premier has been appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada. (Jeff McIntosh/Canadian Press)

Klein suffers from a severe form of dementia. Upon learning he would receive the honour, his family released a statement expressing their gratitude.

The statement reads: "Members of the family visited with Ralph earlier this week and informed him that he was to be awarded the Order of Canada. While words are difficult, his face brightened, and he smiled.

"Ralph is ailing now, but will always remain strong and vibrant in the hearts and minds of Albertans."

Forty-two people were also appointed Members of the Order of Canada.

They include: Toronto Rabbi Arthur Norman Biefeld, for his contribution to the city's Jewish community over 30 years; Wadih M. Fares, of Halifax, for his role as entrepreneur and community leader; and Bernice Morgan, of St. John's, for her contributions as an author and her support of the arts in Newfoundland and Labrador.

The winners will be honoured at a ceremony at Rideau Hall, the Governor General's residence in Ottawa, at a later date.

Here is the full list of appointees:

Companions of the Order of Canada

The Honourable Ian Corneil Binnie, Toronto

Natalie Zemon Davis, Toronto

Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Montreal

Officers of the Order of Canada

Robert G. Bertram, Aurora, Ont.

Jean Bissonnette, Montreal

Francine Décary, Montreal

Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Toronto

Angèle Dubeau, Westmount, Que. (Promotion within the order)

Chantal St-Cyr Hébert, Montreal

Paul F. Hoffman, Victoria

Prabhat Jha, Toronto

Ralph Klein, Calgary

Maryse Lassonde, Montreal

John Last, Ottawa

Jean-François Lépine, Ville Mont-Royal, Que.

Hadi-Khan Mahabadi, Mississauga, Ont.

Ermanno Mauro, Mississauga, Ont.

Marianne McKenna, Toronto

Craig Oliver, Ottawa

The Honourable P. Michael Pitfield, Ottawa

Sharon Pollock, Calgary

John Brian Patrick (Pat) Quinn, West Vancouver

The Honourable John D. Richard, Ottawa

Cecil H. Rorabeck, London, Ont.

Louise Roy, Montreal

Gordon Semenoff, Surrey, B.C.

Gilles Tremblay, Montreal

The Honourable Marilyn Trenholme Counsell, Sackville, N.B.

Members of the Order of Canada

Carolyn Acker, Toronto

Dyane Adam, Saint-François-de-l'Île-d'Orléans, Que.

Patsy Anderson, Toronto

Allan Gordon Bell, Cochrane, Alta.

Rabbi Arthur Norman Bielfeld, Toronto

Roger Bland, Edmonton

Robert B. Bourne, London, Ont.

Pierre Bruneau, Montreal

John Buhler, Winnipeg

Silver Donald Cameron, Halifax

Stephen Chatman, Vancouver

Guy Corneau, Montreal

Franklin Delaney, Beaconsfield, Que.

Wadih M. Fares, Halifax

Anthony (Tony) Fields, Edmonton

Allan Gotlib, Thornhill, Ont.

Michel Goulet, Montreal

Alia Hogben, Gananoque, Ont.

Greg Hollingshead, Edmonton

Nancy Kilgour, Calgary

Henry Kloppenburg, Saskatoon

Merril Knudtson, Calgary

The Honourable Frances Lankin, Restoule, Ont.

Louis LaPierre, Moncton, N.B.

William Laskin, Toronto

Monique F. Leroux, Montreal

Guy Maddin, Winnipeg

Salem Masry, Fredericton

Kenneth Maybee, New Maryland, N.B.

Des McAnuff, Stratford, Ont.

Elizabeth McWeeny, Thunder Bay, Ont.

Lois Mitchell, Calgary

Bernice Morgan, St. John's

Marian Packham, Toronto

Gordon Rawlinson, Calgary and Prince Albert, Sask.

Jean-Guy Rioux, Pointe-Brûlée, N.B.

Michèle Rouleau, Montreal

Marie Saint Pierre, Montreal

Mr. Emanuele (Lino) Saputo, Senneville, Que.

Steven Schipper, Winnipeg

Cyril Simard, Quebec City

Laure Waridel, Montreal