Mulcair names NDP shadow cabinet

New NDP Leader Tom Mulcair has appointed his shadow cabinet to Stephen Harper's Conservative government, naming three deputy leaders and assigning a number of former leadership rivals to prominent posts.

NDP leader names 3 deputy leaders, gives leadership rivals prominent posts

New NDP Leader Tom Mulcair appointed his shadow cabinet to Stephen Harper's Conservative government on Thursday, naming three deputy leaders and assigning a number of former leadership rivals to prominent posts.

Nova Scotia MP Megan Leslie and Ontario MP Dave Christopherson will join Libby Davies as deputy leaders.

Davies, a veteran caucus member from Vancouver, served as one of Jack Layton's deputy leaders alongside Mulcair.

Mulcair announced after winning the leadership in March that Davies would continue to serve as his deputy leader.

Davies had supported Brian Topp during the NDP leadership race.

Christopherson, on the other hand, was a strong supporter of Mulcair throughout the race. Leslie had remained neutral in the run-up to the leadership convention.

BC MP Nathan Cullen, one of Mulcair's rivals for the leadership of the NDP, was appointed as Opposition House leader, and will be assisted by new deputy House leader Sadia Groguhé, the MP for Saint-Lambert in Quebec.

Nash, Dewar, return to former portfolios

Fellow leadership rivals Paul Dewar, Peggy Nash and Niki Ashton also returned to their former posts as critics of foreign affairs, finance and women's issues, respectively. Romeo Saganash will move to international development and Robert Chisholm moves to fisheries, in addition to helping on intergovernmental affairs.

Former interim leader Nycole Turmel was also named chief Opposition whip.

"I am proud of the quality of the team we have," said Mulcair in a statement. "I am particularly proud of the sense of unity and purpose New Democrat MPs have shown as we went through this process."

Some shuffling of critics' responsibilities was necessary during the leadership race as senior MPs ran leadership campaigns, spending long periods travelling and absent from House of Commons debates and question period. The party's rules dictated that leadership candidates had to step down from their critic roles.

Saganash, for example, was the natural resources critic, but gave up that post to run for the leadership and was replaced by Claude Gravelle in the interim. Peter Julian now takes over as the critic for energy and natural resources.

Here's a complete breakdown of the NDP's House officers and shadow cabinet:

House officers

  • Tom Mulcair, leader of the Official Opposition, intergovernmental affairs.
  • Libby Davies, deputy leader, health.
  • David Christopherson, deputy leader.
  • Megan Leslie, deputy leader, environment.
  • Nathan Cullen, house leader.
  • Sadia Groguhé, deputy House leader, deputy immigration, citizenship and multiculturalism.
  • Nycole Turmel, whip.
  • Phil Toone, deputy whip, deputy fisheries (East Coast). 

Shadow cabinet

  • Malcolm Allen, agriculture.
  • Charlie Angus, ethics, ATI and privacy.
  • Niki Ashton, women.
  • Dennis Bevington, Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency.
  • Lysane Blanchette-Lamothe, seniors.
  • Françoise Boivin, justice.
  • Charmaine Borg, digital Issues.
  • Alexandre Boulerice, labour, deputy ethics, ATI and privacy.
  • Marjolaine Boutin-Sweet, housing, deputy human resources and skills development.
  • Chris Charlton, human resources and skills development.
  • Robert Chisholm, fisheries, Atlantic Gateway, deputy intergovernmental affairs.
  • Olivia Chow, transport, infrastructure and communities;
  • Ryan Cleary, Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency, post-secondary education.
  • Joe Comartin, democratic reform.
  • Jean Crowder, aboriginal affairs.
  • Don Davies, international trade.
  • Anne-Marie Day, employment insurance.
  • Paul Dewar, foreign affairs.
  • Pierre Dionne Labelle, Francophonie.
  • Fin Donnelly, Western Economic Diversification Canada, deputy fisheries (West Coast).
  • Linda Duncan, public works and government services.
  • Matthew Dubé, sport.
  • Peter Julian, energy and natural resources.
  • Randall Garrison, public safety, LGBTT.
  • Yvon Godin, official languages.
  • Jack Harris, defence.
  • Matthew Kellway, military procurement.
  • François Lapointe, small business and tourism.
  • Hélène Laverdière, americas and consular affairs.
  • Hélène LeBlanc, industry.
  • Hoang Mai, national revenue.
  • Irene Mathyssen, pensions.
  • Wayne Marston, human rights, Federal Economic Development Agency for southern Ontario.
  • Pat Martin, Canadian Wheat Board.
  • Brian Masse, Canada-U.S. Border, Ontario-Quebec Continental Gateway.
  • Peggy Nash, finance.
  • Pierre Nantel, heritage.
  • Manon Perreault, disability issues.
  • John Rafferty, Federal Economic Development Initiative for northern Ontario.
  • Mathieu Ravignat, treasury board.
  • Jean Rousseau, Economic Development Agency for the Regions of Quebec.
  • Romeo Saganash, international development, deputy international trade.
  • Jasbir Sandhu, Asia-Pacific Gateway.
  • Jinny Sims, immigration, citizenship and multiculturalism.
  • Kennedy Stewart, science and technology.
  • Peter Stoffer, veterans.
  • Glenn Thibeault, consumer protection.

Deputy critics

  • Robert Aubin, deputy transport, infrastructure and communities.
  • Paulina Ayala, deputy Americas and consular affairs.
  • Tyrone Benskin, deputy official languages.
  • Denis Blanchette, deputy public works and government services.
  • Ruth Ellen Brosseau, deputy agriculture.
  • Guy Caron, deputy finance.
  • Andrew Cash, deputy heritage
  • Sylvain Chicoine, deputy veterans.
  • Rosane Doré Lefebvre, deputy public safety.
  • Jonathan Genest-Jourdain, deputy aboriginal affairs.
  • Dan Harris, deputy industry.
  • Carole Hughes, deputy aboriginal health.
  • Anne Minh-Thu Quach, deputy environment.
  • Alexandrine Latendresse, deputy democratic reform.
  • Laurin Liu, deputy science and technology.
  • Christine Moore, deputy defence.
  • Dany Morin, deputy LGBTT.
  • Jamie Nicholls, deputy natural resources.
  • Annick Papillon, deputy consumer protection.
  • Ève Péclet, deputy foreign affairs.
  • Craig Scott, deputy justice.
  • Djaouida Sellah, deputy health.
  • Mike Sullivan, deputy housing, deputy disability issues.

With files from the CBC's Rosemary Barton