Daniel Nestor, Pat Quinn among Order of Canada recipients

Tennis star Daniel Nestor and longtime NHL coach and general manager Pat Quinn are among the 44 Order of Canada honourees being recognized today.

Tennis star Daniel Nestor and longtime NHL coach and general manager Pat Quinn are among the 44 Order of Canada honourees being recognized today.

Others receiving Order of Canada honours at an investiture ceremony at Rideau Hall include:

  • Author and journalist Silver Donald Cameron.
  • Writer Greg Hollingshead.
  • Autism advocate Margaret Spoelstra.
  • Columnist and CBC At Issue panelist Chantal Hébert.
  • Architect Marianne McKenna.
  • Journalist Craig Oliver.
  • Retired Supreme Court justice Ian Binnie.
  • Aaju Peter, an Iqaluit clothing designer, lawyer and activist.

The Order of Canada is bestowed four times a year at an investiture ceremony presided over by Gov. Gen. David Johnston. Anyone can nominate a living Canadian (politicians and judges must not be in office) for the honour, and appointments are recommended by an advisory panel chaired by the chief justice of the Supreme Court.

More than 5,000 people have been invested in the Order since its inception in 1967.

Watch the ceremony live. Here is the full list of Friday's 44 recipients:

Members of the Order of Canada

  • Carolyn Acker, C.M., Toronto.
  • Patsy Anderson, C.M., Toronto.
  • Allan Gordon Bell, C.M., Cochrane, Alta.
  • Robert B. Bourne, C.M., London, Ont.
  • Silver Donald Cameron, C.M., O.N.S., Halifax.
  • Franklin Delaney, C.M., Beaconsfield.
  • Wadih M. Fares, C.M., Halifax.
  • Anthony (Tony) Fields, C.M., Edmonton.
  • Alia Hogben, C.M., Gananoque, Ont.
  • Greg Hollingshead, C.M., Edmonton.
  • Nancy Kilgour, C.M., Calgary.
  • Henry Kloppenburg, C.M., Saskatoon.
  • Merril Knudston, C.M., Calgary.
  • Louis LaPierre, C.M., Dieppe, N.B.
  • William Laskin, C.M., Toronto.
  • Monique F. Leroux, C.M., Montreal.
  • Kenneth Maybee, C.M., O.M.M., C.D. (deceased), Fredericton.
  • Elizabeth McWeeny, C.M., Thunder Bay, Ont.
  • Bernice Morgan, C.M., St. John’s.
  • Daniel Nestor, C.M., Toronto and Nassau.
  • Aaju Peter, C.M., Iqaluit.
  • Gordon Rawlinson, C.M., Calgary and Prince Albert, Sask.
  • Jean-Guy Rioux, C.M., Shippagan, N.B.
  • Michèle Rouleau, C.M., C.Q., Montreal.
  • Marie Saint Pierre, C.M., C.Q., Montreal.
  • Steven Schipper, C.M., Winnipeg.
  • Margaret Spoelstra, C.M., Toronto.

Officers of the Order of Canada

  • Elizabeth Dowdeswell, O.C., Toronto.
  • Gordon Guyatt, O.C., Dundas, Ont.
  • Chantal St-Cyr Hébert, O.C., Montreal.
  • Paul F. Hoffman, O.C., Victoria.
  • Maryse Lassonde, O.C., C.Q., Montréal.
  • John Last, O.C., Ottawa.
  • Jean-François Lépine, O.C., Montreal.
  • Hadi-Khan Mahabadi, O.C., Toronto.
  • Marianne McKenna, O.C., Toronto.
  • Jean-Jacques Nattiez, O.C., C.Q., Montréal (Promotion within the Order).
  • Craig Oliver, O.C. Ottawa
  • John Brian Patrick (Pat) Quinn, O.C., Vancouver.
  • The Hon. John D. Richard, O.C., Ottawa.
  • Cecil H. Rorabeck, O.C., London, Ont.
  • Gordon Semenoff, O.C., Surrey, B.C.
  • The Hon. Marilyn Trenholme Counsell, O.C., O.N.B., Sackville, N.B.

Companion of the Order of Canada

  • The Hon. William Ian Corneil Binnie, C.C., Toronto.


  • An earlier version of this story incorrectly mentioned Helene Campbell as a recipient of the Order of Canada. Campbell in fact received the Order of Ottawa on Nov. 22.
    Nov 23, 2012 10:30 AM ET