Conservatives issue rules for leadership contest to replace Stephen Harper

The Conservative Party has released its leadership election rules for the selection of the next leader to succeed Stephen Harper on May 27, 2017. With the rules now in place, the Conservative leadership race is officially open.

Candidates will have to fork out $100,000 in fees to enter the race

The Conservative Party of Canada has set May 27, 2017 as the date it will choose its next leader. Some of the names being mentioned as potential contenders include, from left, Calgary MP Jason Kenney, former justice minister Peter MacKay, Ontario MP Kellie Leitch and celebrity businessman Kevin O'Leary. (Canadian Press/Associated Press)

Running to replace Stephen Harper as leader of the federal Conservative party promises to be an expensive proposition.

Rules released by the party on Tuesday allow candidates to spend up to $5 million on their campaigns. As well, they must put up a $50,000 registration fee and a $50,000 "compliance" fee to enter the race.

The spending limit is more than five times the $950,000 ceiling for the Liberal leadership campaign in 2013. The NDP imposed a limit of $500,000 in 2012.

It will also be a long campaign, with the new Conservative leader to be picked on May 27, 2017. The Liberal campaign was five months long, the NDP race six months.

Candidates must be Tory members for at least six months when they enter the contest.

The party will not follow the example of the Liberals, who let non-members vote for their leadership. Only Conservative members will be allowed to cast ballots in the 338 ridings, and they will have to pay for their own memberships.

Each riding will carry equal weight in picking the new leader.

The leadership became vacant when Harper resigned following the Conservative defeat in the October federal election.

Rona Ambrose was chosen to fill in on an interim basis with the understanding the interim leader would not enter the race.

No one has declared their intention to run, but polls have named former cabinet minister Peter MacKay as an early front-runner.

Others mentioned as possible candidates include former cabinet ministers Tony Clement, Jason Kenney and Lisa Raitt, along with businessman and television personality Kevin O'Leary — who likely would have to take out a membership and wait the six months required by the rules if he decided to run.

Candidates must register by Feb. 24, 2017.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?