CBC Indigenous earns 3 national awards for investigative journalism, innovation

CBC Indigenous has been awarded three national journalism awards for multi-platform investigative journalism, excellence in innovation and technical innovation from the Canadian Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA).

Small, cross-Canada team recognized by Radio Television Digital News Association

CBC Indigenous won three 2019 national journalism awards from the Radio Television Digital News Association of Canada on Saturday. From left, producer Stephanie Brown, reporter Nic Meloney, reporter Jorge Barrera and social media editor Sian Lloyd. (CBC)

CBC Indigenous has won three national journalism awards from the Canadian Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA), for multi-platform investigative journalism, excellence in innovation and technical innovation. 

The awards were given out at a ceremony held in Toronto on Saturday.

Excellence in innovation

Under the RTDNA's multi-platform category for Excellence in Innovation, CBC Indigenous was recognized for its part in the digital legacy project Beyond 94, which tracks the progress of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's 94 Calls to Action.

A year in the making, the Beyond 94 project was a collaboration by CBC Indigenous, CBC Manitoba, CBC Saskatchewan, CBC North and CBC Interactives. Earlier in May, the project also received a Human Rights Reporting award, co-sponsored by the Canadian Association of Journalists and Journalists for Human Rights.

Investigative journalism

The team was also awarded the Dan McArthur Award for Investigative journalism for "Heredity or Hoax? How Dog DNA Helped Uncover a Suspected Indian Status Scam," a collaboration by CBC Indigenous reporter Jorge Barrera and CBC The National's Tiffany Foxcroft and Adrienne Arsenault. 

The CBC investigation explored the potential fraudulent use of cards resembling Indian Status cards in Quebec, and inaccurate DNA testing by a Toronto company.    

Technical innovation

CBC Indigenous social media presenter Sian Lloyd, video journalist Nic Meloney and videographer Brian MacKay won the Dejero Award for Best Technical Innovation for their collaboration on a Facebook Live Q&A with Mi'kmaw leaders during a massive protest flotilla in Pictou, N.S.

CBC Indigenous has been honoured with nine national and regional awards this year.