Margaret Atwood lands on longlist for Bailey fiction prize

Margaret Atwood's 'Maddaddam' is one of two Canadian books on the longlist of the prestigious Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction.

Maddadam is the latest in a series of books chronicling a dystopic future

'Maddaddam' marks the third book in a series focused on a dystopic future which began with 'Oryx and Crake' and then 'The Year of the Flood.'

Margaret Atwood's MaddAddam is one of two Canadian books on the longlist of the prestigious Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction.

The British award, formerly known as the Orange Prize, honours women writing in English. 

The other Canadian entry is The Bear by Claire Cameron, who resides in Toronto. The novel is about a young girl who must fend for herself and her little brother after a bear attack.

MaddAddam marks the third book in Atwood's series centred on a dystopic future, beginning with Oryx and Crake followed by The Year of the Flood.

In MaddAddam, Atwood takes a minor character from the second book, Zeb, and chronicles his misadventures in the post-apocalyptic world Atwood created in the previous books.
The winner, to be announced June 4th, also wins the equivalent of $55,650.

The 2014 longlist has seven US authors, including Donna Tartt for The Goldfinch, four UK writers as well as novelists from countries including Ireland, Canada and Nigeria.

Two previous Orange Prize winners are also on the list of 20: American author Suzanne Berne for The Dogs of Littlefield and Nigerian writer Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie for Americanah.

Berne nabbed the award for A Crime in the Neighbourhood (1999) and Adichie for Half a Yellow Sun (2007).

Some of other nominees of note include Canadian-born Eleanor Catton's second novel The Luminaries, which won the Booker prize in October 2013 and also Canada'sGovernor General's literary award for fiction in 2013, and Fatima Bhutto, niece of the late Pakistani prime minister Benazir Bhutto, is longlisted for her debut novel The Shadow Of The Crescent Moon. Catton was raised in New Zealand and still lives there.

"The judges feel this is a fantastic selection of books of the highest quality that you would want to press on your friends,” said the chair of the judging panel, Helen Fraser.

The panel included columnist and author Caitlin Moran, TV host Sophie Raworth and Mary Beard, a professor of classics at the University of Cambridge.

The shortlist will be announced on April 7 and the winner, who will also receive £30,000 ($55,650) will be unveiled in London on June 4.

  • Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie -  Americanah.
  • Margaret Atwood -  MaddAddam.
  • Suzanne Berne -  The Dogs of Littlefield.
  • Fatima Bhutto -  The Shadow of the Crescent Moon.
  • Claire Cameron -  The Bear.
  • Lea Carpenter -  Eleven Days.
  • MJ Carter - T  he Strangler Vine.
  • Eleanor Catton  - The Luminaries.
  • Deborah Kay Davies -  Reasons She Goes to the Woods.
  • Elizabeth Gilbert -  The Signature of All Things.
  • Hannah Kent -  Burial Rites.
  • Rachel Kushner -  The Flamethrowers.
  • Jhumpa Lahiri -  The Lowland.
  • Audrey Magee - T  he Undertaking.
  • Eimear McBride -  A Girl is a Half-Formed Thing.
  • Charlotte Mendelson -  Almost English.
  • Anna Quindlen - S  till Life With Bread Crumbs.
  • Elizabeth Strout -  The Burgess Boys.
  • Donna Tartt -  The Goldfinch.
  • Evie Wyld -  All the Birds, Singing.