Canadian Folk Music Awards recipients announced in Edmonton

Amelia Curran, Catherine MacLellan, Kiran Ahluwalia and Digging Roots were among the winners Sunday night at the Canadian Folk Music Awards

Annual ceremony celebrated in Edmonton

Canadian Folk Music Awards

7 years ago
Duration 3:24
Amelia Curran, Catherine MacLellan and Digging Roots were among the winners Sunday at the 2015 Canadian Folk Music Awards

The recipients of this year's Canadian Folk Music Awards were announced Sunday evening during a gala at Edmonton's Citadel Theatre.

Newfoundland's Amelia Curran took home Contemporary Singer and English Songwriter of the Year for her album They Promised You Mercy.

PEI's Catherine MacLellan won Contemporary Album and Solo Artist of the Year for her album The Raven's Sun. while Edmonton local Rebecca Lappa brought home the Young Performer of the Year award for her album Tattered Rose.

Ontario's Kiran Ahluwalia was awarded World Solo Artist of the Year for Sanata: Stillness, and Ontario fiddler Adrianna Ciccone won Instrumental Solo Artist of the Year for her album The Back of Winter.

Ensemble of the Year went to Comox Valley, BC's Big Little Lions for A Little Frayed, A Little Torn, and the Vocal Group of the Year award was claimed by St.John's based Fortunate Ones for The Bliss.

Husband and wife duos

Quebec husband and wife duo Raven Kanatakta and ShoShona Kish from Long Point First Nation in Winneway, who perform as Digging Roots, won Aboriginal Songwriter for their album For The Light.

Nova Scotia's husband and wife fiddle duo Natalie MacMaster and Donnell Leahy won the Instrumental Group of the Year award for their album ONE.

Newfoundland's Matthew Byrne was awarded Traditional Album of the Year for Hearts & Heroes and Quebec's Michael Jerome Browne won Traditional Singer of the Year for his 1920's blues-inspired album Sliding Delta.

The New/Emerging Artist of the Year went to Ontario's The Young Novelists, while The Lemon Bucket Orkestra was named World Group of the Year.

Children's Album of the Year went to The Swinging Belles, for More Sheep, Less Sleep.

Louis-Jean Cormier was honoured with the French Songwriter of the Year award his second solo album Les grandes arteres.

Renowned Ontario guitarist Kevin Breit won the Pushing the Boundaries award for his album Ernesto & Delilah.

Producer of the Year went to Nova Scotia's Daniel Ledwell for his work on Compostela by Jenn Grant.

And Ottawa's Arthur McGregor was honoured as this year's Unsung Hero, a special category award that highlights the exceptional contributions of an individual, group, or organization to the Canadian folk music scene. 


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?