Finalists announced for 2014 CBC Poetry Prize

Five writers from across Canada are vying for the 2014 CBC Poetry Prize.
The five finalists for the 2014 CBC Poetry Prize are, from left, Cynthia Woodman Kerkham, Alessandra Naccarato, David Martin, Laurie D. Graham and Basma Kavanagh. (Frances Litman/Jacklyn Atlas/Marsha Quartero/Jason Graham/Keith Williams)
  Five writers from across Canada are vying for the 2014 English-language CBC Poetry Prize. 
  The finalists, who were selected from more than 2,500 submitted works of poetry, are: 
  •  Laurie D. Graham, a college teacher in London, Ontario and co-editor of literary publication Brick magazine. Her shortlisted poem is  Settler Education.
  •  Basma Kavanagh, a poet, author, and visual artist residing in Brandon, Manitoba. Her poem  Coda was selected as a finalist.
  •  Cynthia WoodmanKerkham, a poet and past winner of The Malahat Review’s Open Season Award. Her poem for  Burnt Pot, Riverbank, Indifferent Sky is a contender.
  •  David Martin, a part-time teacher and poet living in Calgary. His poem  Tar Swan made the shortlist.
  •  Alessandra Naccarato, a writer, performer and MFA student at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver. Her poem  Coyote Medicine/Medicine Coyote rounds out this year’s finalists. 

Each shortlisted work will be available to read on the  Canada Writes website and the public is encouraged to share their comments and vote for their favourite entry. The CBC Poetry Prize winner will be determined by this year’s jury panel (Roy Miki, Rachel Rose and Katherena Vermette), and will be announced on Monday, September 22. 

The winning writer will receive a cash prize of $6,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts, see their work published in Air Canada’s enRoute magazine, and be invited to The Banff Centre for a two-week writing residency. The other finalists will each receive $1,000. 

The prize organizers – including  CBC Books - also revealed the five contenders for the corresponding French language prize, the Prix de poesie. 
Previous recipients of the long-running prize include Michael Ondaatje, Carol Shields, Camilla Gibb, Shauna Singh Baldwin and Susan Musgrave.