Comedy awards pick Less Than Kind, Trotsky

Winnipeg TV series Less than Kind and Montreal film The Trotsky went home with a clutch of trophies Monday night at the Canadian Comedy Awards.

Winnipeg TV series Less than Kind and Montreal film The Trotsky went home with a clutch of  trophies Monday night from the Canadian Comedy Awards.

Less Than Kind, a comedy about a dysfunctional family that runs a driving school, won best ensemble performance and a best TV writing award for its producer Mark McKinney. Former Kid in the Hall Dave Foley also was recognized for his TV performance in Less Than Kind.

The awards ceremony in Toronto also paid tribute to talented Canadian comedians who died in the last year, including Less Than Kind's Maury Chaykin.

Also remembered was late Toronto comedian Irwin Barker, a standup comedian and writer for shows such as This Hour Has 22 Minutes and The Rick Mercer Report.

Barker's colleagues named him Canadian Comedy Person of the Year and gave him the Dave Broadfoot Award for excellence in comedy. He died this June after a battle with cancer.

Montrealer Jacob Tierney's film comedy The Trotsky, about a high school student who thinks he's the reincarnation of Leon Trotsky, earned him best film direction and writing awards. His star Jay Baruchel won the award for best male film performance.

Laurie Elliott received her third award for best female standup and won a best female actor award for her performance in Almost Audrey.

Rookie comedian Mark DeBonis walked away with the honours for best newcomer in standup.

CBC radio show The Debaters won the award for best radio clip for a debate on monotheism vs. polytheism. CBC's Being Erica was recognized for best webisode.

Other winners:

  • Female film performance: Kristin Booth, At Home by Myself... With You.
  • TV direction: Kenny Hotz, Kenny vs. Spenny.
  • Sketch troupe: The Imponderables.
  • Improv troupe: The Carnegie Hall Show.
  • Comedic play: 0% Down, 100% Screwed.
  • Taped live performance: Jon Dore, Just For Laughs.