B.C. bands dominate Fans' Choice Awards

Three B.C. rock bands — Hedley, Marianas Trench and Nickelback — go head to head in 2011 for the Fans' Choice Award at the Canadian Radio Music Awards.

Three B.C. rock bands — Hedley, Marianas Trench and Nickelback — go head to head in 2011 for the Fans' Choice Award at the Canadian Radio Music Awards.

Hedley, the pop rockers from Hedley, B.C., who performed at the closing ceremonies of the Vancouver Winter Olympics, won the fan-voted Fans' Choice honours in 2010.

Nickelback, formed in 1995 in Alberta and now based in Vancouver, frequently top radio play charts in Canada.

Also in the running for the Fans' Choice Award are Vancouver singer Michael Bublé, who racked up two more Grammy nominations earlier this month, and Stratford, Ont., teen favourite Justin Bieber.

The Fans' Choice honours are given out with the Canadian Radio Music Awards next March. The Radio Music Awards, determined by a group of music critics and industry professionals, honour Canadian artists who have hit the Canadian charts for the first time or achieved top airplay in different formats.

This year's contenders include a crop of new artists who achieved multiple nominations, among them Winnipeg alt-pop group Ash Koley and solo singers JRDN, Laurell and Stef Lang. Lang and Laurell are both Vancouver artists, while hip-hop artist JRDN (real name Jordan Croucher) hails from Toronto.

In the hot adult contemporary category, Ash Koley's Don't Let Your Feet Touch the Ground and Laurell's Can't Stop Falling are competing with Lang's Mr. Immature. Also nominated in that category are Longo & Wainwright featuring Craig Smart for One Life Stand and Sweet Thing for Change of Seasons.

Ash Koley and Laurell are vying with Johnny Reid's Let's Go Higher and Nicki Yanofsky's I Believe in the contemporary category.

JRDN and Longo & Wainwright have nods for best dance/urban track, competing with Raghav and Quanteisha.

The nominees in the country category are:

  • Ambush, Take My Picture.
  • Chad Brownless, The Best That I Can.
  • High Valley, I Will Stand by You.
  • Ladies of the Canyon, Follow Me Down.
  • Marlee Scott, Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow.

The nominees for SOCAN song of the year:

  • Ghost, by Fefe Dobson.
  • Haven't Met You Yet, by Michael Bublé.
  • Perfect by Hedley.
  • This Afternoon by Nickelback.
  • Wavin' Flag by K'Naan.
  • Your Man, Down With Webster.

The winners will be announced during Canadian Music Week March 9-13.