PEI Votes

P.E.I. election: 6 districts to watch

Winning a majority government on P.E.I. requires winning 14 of 27 seats in the legislature, but there are six districts that could post results that indicate which way the political wind is blowing.

Districts that could make a difference in P.E.I. election

These six districts in the P.E.I. election are difficult to call. (CBC)

Winning a majority government on P.E.I. requires winning 14 of 27 seats in the legislature, but there are six districts that could post results that indicate which way the political wind is blowing.

Belfast-Murray River (4)

Liberal incumbent Charlie McGeoghegan won re-election in this district by just eight votes in 2011. He will once again face Progressive Conservative Darlene Compton, who has raised her profile considerably with a run at the party leadership.

This is the district of former PC premier Pat Binns, and a long-time Tory stronghold before McGeoghegan took it. He could have a battle on his hands to win re-election again.

Stratford-Kinlock (6)

Incumbent Progressive Conservative James Aylward won this district by a large margin in 2011. It is traditionally PC, but the Liberals took it for one term in 2007.  Rapid growth in the area could make voting patterns more difficult to predict.

Aylward faces a significant challenge from Stratford Mayor David Dunphy, who is the candidate for the Liberals.

Morell-Mermaid (7)

With Olive Crane deciding not to run in 2015, this district features a race of mixed loyalties.

The Liberals felt they had a shot at unseating Crane in 2011, who was leading the Progressive Conservatives at the time, but she ended up winning the seat easily over Dan MacDonald, who is running again this time.

Crane resigned as leader in 2012 and was later tossed from the party. Crane loyalists, perhaps angry at the Progressive Conservatives, may stay at home or even change their vote.

Sidney MacEwen, who worked for Crane, is the PC candidate.

West Royalty-Springvale (15)

Liberal incumbent Bush Dumville faced challenges from two members of his own party for the nomination in this district. Dumville won re-election by just 63 votes in 2011.

Shawn Driscoll, a policy advisor to Egmont MP Gail Shea, will make the Progressive Conservative's third attempt to unseat Dumville.

Borden-Kinkora (19)

This district has gone with the government since 1996 but incumbent Liberal George Webster has decided not to run again.

Ramona Roberts is the Liberal candidate. Progressive Conservative Jamie Fox, who lost by a little more than 100 votes in 2011 to Webster, is making another run at the seat.

Tignish-Palmer Road (27)

This far western tip of the province had been Liberal for 30 years before Gail Shea took it for the Tories in 2000. The Liberals took it back in 2007, but lost it again in 2011.

It went back to Liberal hands when incumbent Hal Perry crossed the floor in 2013.

Perry won the nomination for the Liberals, over Neil LeClair who previously held the seat for the Liberals. Joseph Profit is the Progressive Conservative candidate, and will test the loyalty of Liberal voters for Hal Perry.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.