PEI Votes

Fewer women elected to P.E.I. legislature

The P.E.I. legislature will have one woman fewer sitting when it resumes this spring.

4 Liberal and 1 Progressive Conservative female candidates win their seats

Of the 31 women who ran in the 2015 P.E.I. election, five won their seats.

The P.E.I. legislature will have fewer women sitting when it resumes this spring, but only by one.

Both the Green Party and the NDP fielded nine women, while seven ran for the Liberals and six for the PCs. There are 27 seats in the legislature.

Of the 31 women running, the following won their seats:

  • Paula Biggar – Liberal
  • Kathleen Casey – Liberal
  • Tina Mundy – Liberal
  • Janice Sherry – Liberal
  • Darlene Compton – PC

Six women were elected in 2011.

  • Carolyn Bertram – Liberal
  • Kathleen Casey – Liberal
  • Valerie Docherty – Liberal
  • Janice Sherry – Liberal
  • Paula Biggar – Liberal
  • Olive Crane – PC


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversationCreate account

Already have an account?