Alberta Votes

Alberta Election 2015: NDP wins 14 of 25 Calgary ridings

The NDP won the majority of Calgary's ridings. But PC Leader Jim Prentice announced he would quit despite having just won his own Calgary seat.

4 party leaders ran in Calgary: Jim Prentice, David Swann, Greg Clark and Janet Keeping

When Alberta PC Leader Jim Prentice took to the stage in Calgary following the Alberta election results on Tuesday, he announced he would retire from politics. (Jeff McIntosh)

The NDP won the majority of Calgary's ridings. But PC Leader Jim Prentice, who held onto his own Calgary seat, announced he would quit. 

The NDP won 14 Calgary seats, the PCs won eight seats and the Liberals and Alberta each have a single seat.

In Calgary-Glenmore, there is a tie between PC Linda Johnson and NDP Anam Kazim. In order to show a result on our map, CBC has given the riding to the incumbent PC and will update once Elections Alberta resolves the issue.

Calgary voters did not merely cast a ballot for their local MLA. They also had a big say in which party leaders will go to the Alberta Legislature.

PC Leader Jim Prentice won in the riding of Calgary-Foothills, but took to the podium in his concession speech and said he was resigning, effective immediately.

Prentice and Green Party Leader Janet Keeping were both running in the riding of Calgary-Foothills.

In Calgary-Mountain View, Liberal leader David Swann managed to hold on to his seat, making him the sole Liberal left in the legislature. A medical doctor, vocal health critic and two-time party leader, Swann was first elected in 2004.

Calgary is home to 25 of the province's 87 ridings and the leaders of the PC, Liberal, Alberta and Green Parties were all running in the city. 

In Calgary-Elbow, Alberta Party Leader Greg Clark was elected, becoming the first Alberta Party MLA. He defeated PC Gordon Dirks, who was appointed the education minister. Dirks won an October byelection. The riding was previously held by former premier Redford.

Of course, Calgary isn't home to all the party leaders. NDP Leader Rachel Notley was elected in Edmonton-Strathcona and Wildrose Leader Brian Jean was elected in Fort McMurray-Conklin.

Other closely watched Calgary ridings included:

  • Calgary-Acadia, where incumbent PC Jonathan Denis, who recently stepped down as justice minister, is facing public legal proceedings involving his estranged wife. The NDP's Brandy Payne won. Denis finished third.
  • Calgary-Fort, where former city councillor Joe Ceci is a star candidate for the NDP. He won with almost half the vote.
  • Calgary-Shaw, where Jeff Wilson, a former Wildrose MLA who crossed the floor to the PC party in December, is running for the PCs. Wilson finished third.
  • Calgary-Varsity, a riding that has swung between the Liberals and PC parties in the past. Donna Kennedy-Glans did not run again. Susan Billington, a relatively unknown PC candidate is facing strong opposition from Liberal Pete Helfrich and the NDP's Stephanie McLean. The NDP's McLean won by more than 2,000 votes.

Prentice was brought into the fold of the PC party after former Alberta premier Alison Redford left in a cloud of controversy. He won the leadership vote in September, became Alberta's 16th premier, and then gained a seat in the Alberta Legislature during an October byelection.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?