Kathleen Wynne's shuffled cabinet features 40% women

Ontario Premier Kathleen Wynne is shaking up her cabinet on this morning, introducing seven new faces and more women to her inner-circle.

7 new ministers join cabinet, while some high-profile ministers retain posts

Ontario Premier Kathleen Wynne, centre left, and Lt.-Gov. Elizabeth Dowdeswell, centre right, unveiled the province's new cabinet at Queen's Park on Monday. (Peter Power/The Canadian Press)

Ontario Premier Kathleen Wynne introduced a new cabinet that welcomes seven new faces and more women to her inner-circle.

Wynne introduced her new cabinet — 40 per cent of which is made up of women — at a ceremony at Queen's Park on Monday. This is the first cabinet shuffle since the June 2014 election.

Wynne's 30-person cabinet is also the largest Ontario has seen since the 1980s. Frank Miller had a 33-person cabinet in 1985, while David Peterson also had a 30-member cabinet in 1987.

The new cabinet features seven new faces, while some high-profile politicians will be changing roles. Yasir Naqvi, for example, will take on the role of attorney general. While Liz Sandals moves from education to the treasury board. 

Other ministers, including Glen Murray (environment), Eric Hoskins (health) and Charles Sousa (finance) will stay in their roles. 

Some highlights of the cabinet changes:

  • Mitzie Hunter becomes Minister of Education.
  • Deb Matthews remains Deputy Premier and also gets the new title of Minister Responsible for Digital Government.
  • Indira Naidoo-Harris becomes Associate Minister of Finance responsible for the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan.
  • Glenn Thibeault, a former NDP MP, becomes Minster of Energy.
  • Laura Albanese becomes Minister of Citizenship and Immigration.

Several cabinet ministers announced they were leaving their posts before Monday's event.

Attorney General Madeleine Meilleur, Seniors Affairs Minister Mario Sergio and Municipal Affairs Minister Ted McMeekin all stepped down last week, with McMeekin saying he wanted to make room for more women in cabinet.

Here is the full list of Ontario cabinet ministers:

  • Kathleen Wynne: Premier and President of the Council Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs.
  • Deborah Matthews: Deputy Premier, Minister of Advanced Education and Skills Development, Cabinet Minister Responsible for Digital Government.
  • Michael Gravelle: Minister of Northern Development and Mines.
  • Brad Duguid: Minister of Economic Development and Growth.
  • Jeff Leal: Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs.
  • David Orazietti: Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services.
  • Liz Sandals: President of the Treasury Board.
  • David Zimmer: Minister of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation.
  • Michael Chan: Minister of International Trade.
  • Reza Moridi: Minister of Research, Innovation and Science.
  • Yasir Naqvi: Attorney General, Government House Leader.
  • Charles Sousa: Minister of Finance.
  • Eric Hoskins: Minister of Health and Long-Term Care.
  • Glen Murray: Minister of the Environment and Climate Change.
  • Bob Chiarelli: Minister of Infrastructure.
  • Michael Coteau: Minister of Children and Youth Services, Minister Responsible for Anti-Racism.
  • Tracy MacCharles: Minister Responsible for Women's Issues, Minister Responsible for Accessibility.
  • Kevin Flynn: Minister of Labour.
  • William Mauro: Minister of Municipal Affairs.
  • Helena Jaczek: Minister of Community and Social Services.
  • Dipika Damerla: Minister Responsible for Seniors Affairs.
  • Steven Del Duca: Minister of Transportation.
  • Mitzie Hunter: Minister of Education.
  • Laura Albanese: Minister of Citizenship and Immigration.
  • Christopher Ballard: Minister of Housing Minister Responsible for the Poverty Reduction Strategy
  • Marie-France Lalonde: Minister of Government and Consumer Services, Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs.
  • Kathryn McGarry: Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry.
  • Eleanor McMahon: Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport.
  • Indira Naidoo-Harris: Associate Minister of Finance (Ontario Retirement Pension Plan).
  • Glenn Thibeault: Minister of Energy.