McGuinty announces new, leaner cabinet

Ontario Premier Dalton McGuinty has announced a smaller cabinet, as he prepares to return to the legislature.

Dalton McGuinty will run the government of Ontario with a smaller group of cabinet ministers.

Cabinet list

Premier and Intergovernmental Affairs – Dalton McGuinty  

Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs - Ted McMeekin  

Attorney General - John Gerretsen  

Children and Youth Services - Eric Hoskins

Citizenship and Immigration- Charles Sousa

Community Safety and Correctional Services, Francophone Affairs - Madeleine Meilleur  

Community and Social Service - John Milloy

Consumer Services- Margarett Best

Economic Development and Innovation- Brad Duguid

Education, Women's Issues - Laurel Broten  

Energy - Chris Bentley   Environment- Jim Bradley  

Finance - Dwight Duncan  

Government Services - Harinder Takhar  

Health- Deb Matthews

Labour, Seniors - Linda Jeffrey

Municipal Affairs and Housing and Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs - Kathleen Wynne  

Natural Resources (Forestry) - Michael Gravelle

Northern Development and Mines - Rick Bartolucci

Tourism and Culture - Michael Chan  

Training, Colleges and Universities - Glen Murray  

Transportation and Ministry of Infrastructure - Bob Chiarelli   

The Ontario premier released his list of cabinet appointments on Wednesday evening.  There will be six fewer ministers in his new minority government - in fact the smallest cabinet in Ontario since 1998.

A government source said McGuinty had picked experienced people to lead the ministries. "It's a strong, steady group that's focused on jobs and economy growth," the source said.

Dwight Duncan will hold on to his posts as finance minister and as deputy premier, while Kathleen Wynne and Bob Chiarelli will take on double duty.

Wynne, the MPP for Don Valley West, will head two ministries - municipal affairs and housing, as well as the ministry of aboriginal affairs.

Chiarelli, from Ottawa, will head the ministry of transportation and the ministry of infrastructure.

Toronto MPP Laurel Broten was handed the always sensitive education portfolio.

Health - the ministry that eats up the largest slice of the budget pie - will continue to be handled by Deb Matthews.

Brad Duguid moves from energy to economic development.  Chris Bentley, who had been attorney general, take over Duguid's former post.

Before this month's election the Ontario Liberal cabinet had 28 members - including 11 women.

The new cabinet is reduced to 22 members, along with the premier.